Skip to content

Marking Territory and Claiming Space

August 13, 2009

We have taken our dogs out on leashes in the unfenced areas of the yard, just so they will know where their territory begins and ends. We let them sniff and mark it repeatedly — corner by corner, tree by tree. Although they will never be without leashes or a fence, it’s good for them to know where they belong.

The two cats have claimed their space in my office. It seems comforting to them to be in the room right across the hall from us. So I keep the litter, food, and beds in that room.

So then, right after I got up this morning, I knew it was time for me to claim my own space once and for all. Instead of going about it the way the animals have done, I started before daylight, moving all boxes out of the studio that don’t belong there. Toward the end of unloading of our moving van, we started just directing the movers to drop boxes off in the studio, because we were getting overwhelmed with boxes everywhere else. So there are still a few boxes marked “kitchen” and “family room” in the room, but at least I have made a lot of headway arranging things and getting an idea of exactly what kind of space this will be. I just had to see how it will work.

I am blessed with a husband who cheerfully helped me find a place with a big studio space. I feel a little bit guilty, since it’s such a small-ish house compared to our last one, but I get over it quickly. He is happy in whatever room has the big screen TV.

There will be two large track light fixtures mounted near the ceiling and connected to two of the many outlets in the room. And I will paint it white a little later on. The deer border still goes around the room, but that will be removed as well.

Studio 1

Studio Entrance View

Studio 2

Studio View from the Opposite Side

The rest of the house filled up quickly with our cherished possessions, but there wasn’t another inch of space for this antique rocker that belonged to my mother. Therefore, it will be my contemplation chair in the studio.


Chair

. . . My artist mother would have approved.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 12:33 pm

    What a spectacular space. You’re going to have so much fun. Don’t feel guilty! This is the space you need and you will live up to the gift of having it, I’m sure.

    Thank you so much for sharing these photos. It’s a treat to see others’ studios.

    Best wishes as you claim your territory!

  2. August 13, 2009 12:47 pm

    NICE!! but I can see you need some track lighting.

    • August 13, 2009 1:37 pm

      Ohhh yeah — no doubt, Virginia. Painting those walls white will help, but the lighting will be essential.

  3. August 13, 2009 12:56 pm

    What a fabulous rocker to sit in and reflect while enjoying a glass of wine at the end of a day in the studio. I have my Dad’s old wooden desk chair, and I love sitting in it.

    • August 13, 2009 1:42 pm

      How wonderful that you have that chair. Old and loved pieces of furniture are filled with good memories and energy.

  4. August 13, 2009 2:51 pm

    Setting up a new studio is one of the joys of an artist’s life – so many paintings waiting to be made. Who knows what new inspirations your new surroundings will evoke? Exciting!

    • August 13, 2009 8:28 pm

      Yes it is, Bob. It will be interesting to see what comes out of this change of surroundings. Just today I drove about five miles to the nearest supermarket, and nothing but open country — not even a traffic light — between here and there. That in itself is awe inspiring!

  5. August 13, 2009 4:26 pm

    Looks like a wonderful space.

    • August 13, 2009 8:31 pm

      John, I rushed to straighten it this morning so I could take pictures. Now that I’ve done that and it’s starting to look like an actual studio, I’m feeling the need to get out here and work asap! After all, the rest of the house can wait, can’t it??

  6. August 13, 2009 5:04 pm

    Ahhhh….Creating a new nest!
    How exciting! And such a lovely space to call your own…
    May you have many productive, happy hours there.
    (Hugs to the animals, now at home with mom.)

    Love & Laughter

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

