Skip to content

We Made It

August 10, 2009

We are in our new place, only having to do without our internet connection Saturday and Sunday. This morning a nice man came and repaired a phone jack and we were up and running.

All I can say today is that our dogs do not leave our sides. They were brought hundreds of miles by car, only to be left at a strange kennel for a week, even though a friend’s daughter was the owner of that kennel. They had never met her before, and for them it was a completely strange experience. The two cats just hid in their cat room at the kennel, and now they are only slowly coming out of hiding here at our new place. I will keep the cats  inside for the foreseeable future. The dogs are walked outside only on leashes, even in our own yard. The big fenced back yard (chain link) will not be habitable until we put up an additional barrier of privacy fencing to protect them from the truly evil dogs at our back fence.

Every day it gets better, and we love the new place. Our next door neighbor has a beautiful vegetable garden, and has even given us a big bag of heirloom tomatoes and peppers as a house warming present. His wife is a quilter, and we have agreed that we will soon spend at least a morning visiting each other’s studios.

I can’t wait to get working in my studio. For now it serves as a staging area for boxes that still need to be unpacked. But the deer heads are finally gone!

Today I had to play catch up on a client project, working on several digital images for giclees. Here is another one of those

Songs Variation

Please let me know what you’re working on. I need your inspiration! Have a great week.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 7:00 pm

    Yahoo Martha!! I’m glad it all is coming together. Oh no- sorry to hear about the dogs behind you. Have you met the dog’s owner yet?

    This week I have work deadlines and a whole lot of cleaning in the next couple of days as family will be coming for a visit. Sorry not too inspirational. Does making a batch of cherry, and dark chocolate ice cream help? Or how about banana cream pie ice cream? I made one yesterday and the other today.

    • August 11, 2009 6:32 am

      Oooohhh, Joyce! Cherry and dark chocolate ice cream and banana cream pie ice cream are very inspiring in my book!! Yum!

      We haven’t tried to go talk with the dogs’ owner. Here in the country there are those who have dogs outside all the time just to guard their property. I think those dogs are just doing their job, and the owners probably wouldn’t have it any other way. We have only a 4′ high chain link fence between us right now and our dogs and theirs would just tear at each other and the fence (or possibly jump over!) until someone got hurt. Therefore, no choice but to put up the strong wood fence. But it will work out fine. Then there will be a double fence!

  2. August 10, 2009 7:13 pm

    I am designing postcards for my mail art exchange group. I am using pen and ink as well as mixed media techniques.

    I am also currently working on some watercolor paintings. I have created abstract paintings and am currently researching ideas for a realistic painting, possibly of a lighthouse.

    • August 11, 2009 6:35 am

      Amanda, it’s wonderful to hear how many projects you have going. Good luck with your research on the painting. And I do love mail art!

  3. August 10, 2009 8:17 pm

    Just returned from a week in our motor coach at Lincoln City, Oregon. Tomorrow I am looking forward to going to Surefire Design paint your own ceramics to see how my first sculpted vases made it through the first firing. My project is to demonstrate what children of all ages say is the most wonderful thing in the world and make a precious vase intended to touch the child of people with strongly felt divergent competative personalities so they may recognize a glimmer of shared values. I have made a vase celebrating simplicity and an ice cream cone symbolizing generocity. A grandchild made a bowl symbolizing love and another made a vase symbolizing music. So far suggestions have come from 2 1/2 year olds to 90 year olds from all over the world and several faiths. i want to feature these vases in a u-tube slide show.

    • August 11, 2009 6:37 am

      Diane, this idea of yours sounds positively magical. I want to go visit your blog and see what’s been going on in your world, in hopes you will have some pictures of this project.

  4. August 10, 2009 9:39 pm

    During my week at the coast, I incubated ideas on how I might make a vase showing relationships of all kinds not only the ones that bind but also the ones that do not and become learning experiences. I need to symbolize human relationships without using the figure and only suggesting human relationships through the formal parts of the vase from its foot up the body to the shoulders and neck finally to the lip. I am making preliminary abstract paintings about relationships. Chemistry comes to mind and the periodic table grid but I want to have a piece that immediately appeals to the child in us.

  5. August 10, 2009 10:34 pm

    Martha welcome to your new home. May the sun shine on you both all of your days…

    You need us to inspire you? That’s a turn-around because you inspire us all the time. I am stalking our Postie. I have bought some old maps and can’t wait for their arrival. I want to map the land, Aboriginal style, over the real maps. Layers on layers. Will it work? Who knows…but only one sure way to find out.

    • August 11, 2009 6:39 am

      Thank you for the wonderful words. And your map project! I can’t wait to see what happens with that. A beautiful idea and, yes, inspiring!

  6. August 11, 2009 3:15 am

    Congratulations and best wishes for luck and prosperity in your new home!
    I’m sure the inspiration will come after having settled down properly.
    Me? Working on… traditional cross stitch pincushions — custom made. Thinking of painting something on the field of geometrical abstraction, using the principles of light and shadow. Painted quilts, maybe. Completely puzzled, pondering how to continue this highly experimental and maybe ridiculous bird quilt.
    Inspiring??

    • August 11, 2009 8:11 am

      Inspiring and exciting, Eva. Painted quilts in the style of the coat of many colors? I must get over to your blog to see if I can get a peek at your latest creations.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

