Skip to content

Stuff

August 1, 2009

We are all safe and sound — a big sigh of relief. Nice wifi in the motel, furniture in storage, and all five animals in the kennel. So at least for the weekend we can pretend we’re on vacation. I am taking full advantage of that. Tonight we go for sushi with some family members.

The biggest takeaway of all during this huge undertaking is my epiphany about stuff. Despite all the furious pitching and tossing and donating, we were appalled at all the stuff we ended up bringing with us. So naturally this train of thought takes me in an art direction. I feel sure the issue of stuff is going to show itself in future work (or maybe some the actual stuff will be used in some ways, giving it a new life!)

In honor of  all the hoarders of the world, here is one of my favorite works of genius from George Carlin. Enjoy your weekend. I’m enjoying mine.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 10:45 am

    Nice to hear it is going so well.
    What a treat….seeing you here, and one of my favourite Carlin monologues to enjoy one more time. I’ve found the funniest ‘stuff’ in the world is based on truth. Keep smiling. : )

  2. August 1, 2009 11:14 am

    That video is just hilarious Martha – all the best with the move

  3. Sandra permalink
    August 2, 2009 6:07 pm

    Lovely to have you back blogging, so glad that the upheaval has gone smoothly so far. When do you actually move in? And I’m afraid I don’t know exactly where you are now, I think you did tell us some time ago but I don’t remember. I shall so look forward to seeing your “stuff” turn up in artworks.

    • August 3, 2009 6:52 pm

      Sandra, we’re in north Alabama. Right in the heart of the deep south. People are very sweet and friendly and don’t live up to the usual stereotypes. There is a lot of awareness of the arts here, and I plan to be involved with all of it. I’ll be writing about it in future posts.

  4. August 3, 2009 3:58 pm

    good to see you already blogging, Martha.

  5. August 3, 2009 6:54 pm

    About ten minutes a day is all I have right now, with all the running around trying to tie up loose ends. Then after we leave the motel and move into the house, there may be a couple of days without internet. No problem though — there are all kinds of nice little coffee shops around with hot spots.

  6. August 3, 2009 7:20 pm

    Congrats on the 1st part of the the move being behind you. Sounds like a mini-vacation would be a perfect treat for all your hard work.

    Stuff is a tough demon to tame – good luck teaching it some manners!

    Enjoy your break – I can’t wait to see photos after you’ve settled in!

    😀 eirdre

    • August 4, 2009 8:34 am

      Thanks Dierdre — the first part is all. Trust me, I am taking it as easy as possible to get my energy up for the second phase.

      I promise pictures soon!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

