Skip to content

Moving Story

July 1, 2009

To my readers who weren’t aware we were moving, I wanted to wait until something “happened” before going on about it in my blog. As everyone is aware, the real estate market has been just so bad for the past year and a half or so. Our home was on the market for a long time, but we finally have a contract on it. I didn’t want to jinx it by talking about it too much too soon.

We are moving to my hometown area in Alabama to be near our extended family. And we have to do it fast, as the buyers want to close on the 31st of this month! So we are in Alabama scrambling to find something this week, get it bought, and go back home to pack. Things are going to be very busy for a few weeks.

We have been in the car all day looking at houses. They are all starting to run together. I need a drink.

When we know where and what we’re buying, I’ll put up some pictures. I’m putting it out there in the universe that I will have the perfect place with lots of room for a studio and a big fenced-in yard for our dogs. Yessss!

It’s a scary and exciting time. But I think change is good, especially for artists. We all need to interrupt our old patterns of seeing things once in a while. It’s all good.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. candiedfabrics permalink
    July 1, 2009 4:44 pm

    Hooray! I’m so happy for you (of course, fingers crossed, knock on wood until the final i’s are dotted and t’s are crossed!). We will be many, many years digging out financially from our move, with 30 months of double house payments and now being upside down on our house here in CA. The upside for you now is that it’s a buyers market! WooHoo! Go wild, look at all those houses…if you have to put your stuff in storage for a month or so, (or have the movers drive really slowly…) then, that’s a small price to pay to getting the monkey that is an unsold house off your back!

    • July 5, 2009 2:45 am

      Candy, you are so right. We’re relieved just to have a contract on this one. And now we’ve signed on the dotted line for the new one. Every piece of the puzzle has to fall into place over the next few weeks before I can breathe.

  2. July 1, 2009 5:33 pm

    So happy for you both, Martha, that things are beginning to work out. I’ve experienced that frenzy of trying to find the perfect new place in short order. I just know you’ll do it. How exciting! : )

    • July 5, 2009 2:46 am

      Karen, we did it in just two days! On the morning of the third day we signed a contract for our new place. Back home now and planning to take a quiet break before we dig into all the packing!

  3. Sandra permalink
    July 1, 2009 5:37 pm

    All fingers crossed for the contract, and very best wishes for finding the place of your dreams, with a studio worthy of you. And plenty of space for your dogs. I remember having to move in a hurry years ago for the same reason and having to go out looking at houses when I was ill with a very bad cold. I’d gone to sleep in the front yard and the real estate agent (they used to take you round viewing in those days) woke me up and insisted I keep looking!

    • July 5, 2009 2:48 am

      Thank you Sandra! Yes, the realtor did take us around to the list of homes we’d narrowed down. I can’t even imagine having to do it while sick! That’s just horrible.

      This moving in a hurry stuff is not fun, that’s for sure. But we’ll get it done.

  4. sherrill pearson permalink
    July 1, 2009 6:15 pm

    OMG Martha! This must be such a delirious time! So many mixed emotions.

    I must be crazy, but since I have come to know you – and have exchanged comments once-in-awhile – I have felt that you weren’t far from me in Florida. It almost seems like a milk-run from Quebec to Florida. Now you will be in Alabama, you won’t be the only one reorienting. Hahaha.

    I believe that family should be close by and I feel you will be happier in light of that.

    Onward and upwards. 🙂

    • July 5, 2009 2:51 am

      Sherrill, we’ll be even closer now! And it is going to be nice to be close to more family.

  5. July 1, 2009 6:17 pm

    Congrats on the offer and good luck with the house hunt! I am sure it will be nice to be near family. And just think you won’t have to have your new house “showroom” ready at a moment’s notice!

    😀 eirdre

  6. July 1, 2009 11:55 pm

    I’m keeping fingers crossed for your dream home to appear. At a dream price.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

