Skip to content

Before and After Challenge, John Gascot

June 24, 2009

John Gascot very bravely jumped right into the Before and After Challenge. Thank you, John! I love the changes you made to tighten up your composition on this one.

John’s quote:  “I can’t believe I’m even sharing the first version, but here’s my entry. Key West Art Bar sold the re-worked version.”

Before:

Gascot 1

After:

Gascot 2
Personal note:  I love the introduction of stronger pattern in the background areas. Your changes must have been based on good instincts, since it resulted in a gallery sale. Congratulations, John!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 7:47 pm

    And I STILL can’t believe I’m sharing that first version.

    The only thing that kept me pressing on with this painting was the embrace (from the waist up). I couldn’t bring myself to paint over it.
    There were a few other “finished” versions I didn’t photograph. LOL!

  2. June 24, 2009 11:49 pm

    This is based a lot on Fernand Léger, isn’t it? The group composition has been improved a lot on the second one, but I think the houses aren’t abstract enough.

  3. June 25, 2009 4:37 am

    I thought of Leger too, an artist I’ve always enjoyed.

    I see the houses mostly as shapes. And I also love the disk shapes and pattern on the tree.

    Another fun thing is the layering of clouds and birds which gives it much more of a dreamlike quality.

  4. June 25, 2009 4:41 am

    John, I know what you mean about the in-between “finished” stages that don’t get recorded. Happens to me all the time.

  5. June 25, 2009 7:20 am

    What I love most about it is what the tatoos are doing.

  6. June 25, 2009 7:50 am

    Leger is one of my biggest influences (along with Picasso, Matisse, Gaugin and Stuart Davis).

    I didn’t want to abstract the houses any further because the figures are not. They were at one point, but something felt “off” with the overall image. Once the piece took a direction I was satisfied with I went more for “dreamy/folksy/surreal” than abstract.

    • June 25, 2009 9:01 am

      Yeah, John. It’s a good description. I love your list of influences. Stuart Davis is one of my faves.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

