Skip to content

A Very Busy Studio Day

May 20, 2009

Today was spent almost entirely working on new pieces for Michael Murphy Gallery. Several days of work in the studio have been leading up to tomorrow’s delivery of all new pieces in the new colorful series that should appeal to kids from 5 to 95. Seriously. I am one of those kids. I’m thinking of giving the series the title “Sugar Free.”

Here is one piece that I planned in my head long before doing. It’s made up of all sizes of multicolored spheres that might remind one of gumballs. I hope you enjoy this one, and that it reminds you of a simpler time when a mouth full of Atomic Fireball was all you could think about.

Gumballs Sm

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:55 pm

    Gumball machines was ALL I could think about when I read this! So good to look at I could chew it!

    D

  2. May 21, 2009 1:59 am

    I don’t believe you Martha – this is extraordinary! Really. I want to see them all hanging in the gallery. Can we, pelase?

    • May 21, 2009 3:58 am

      Cath, I’m hoping to shoot a picture when they get them all hung in the special room for these colorful ones. I was going to do that week before last, but the gallery was in the middle of being repainted.

  3. May 21, 2009 2:55 am

    Wow! I love it so much! What did you make the spheres out of, if you don’t mind me asking?

    • May 21, 2009 4:00 am

      Well, Karita, there is an artist product called paper clay, which air dries to a permanent hardness. That’s what I used to make the balls. And then I hand painted every single one of them. And I can tell you right now I don’t think I’ll ever do it again. It was tedious and took forever! But I just had to do it, had to!

  4. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:57 am

    Okay, Martha! This schmecks!! I’m having a Pavlovian experience as I type. Seriously, I cannot wait!…to see these lovelies all hanging out together! Under the spots of the gallery they are going to be spectacular. I’m thinking especially of – oh, never mind, all of them will be great together. But, they will have to pass out napkins for people on the way in to see it…drooling factor of course. Hahaha

    • May 21, 2009 12:28 pm

      Hah – glad you like it, Sherrill! I have titled the series “sugar free.” But that doesn’t guarantee no drooling will happen.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

