Skip to content

Quick Paper Studies

May 19, 2009

Here are some examples of quick little studies that I frequently do on paper.

 

Papers 4 Sm
Papers 3 Sm

Paper Studies – Acrylic on Paper, 5 x 7″

I collect wonderful papers: samples, remnants, pieces cut from the edges of a roll after doing a large scale painting, and I stack them in the corner until I have lots of paint left over from a project at the end of the day. And if I have enough energy to play some more, I will feel like just playing with brush strokes and color to see what happens. Sometimes they look like paintings. Other times they become papers for the collage bin. But either way, they get used in more art.

You Can Take the Girl Out of the South . . .

But I guess you  just can’t get the South out of the girl. Tonight we are having fried okra and green tomatoes, fresh corn on the cob, sliced tomatoes, and coleslaw. It’s all vegetarian and it’s all going to be heavenly!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Peggy permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:35 pm

    Yum! My kind of supper!

    • May 20, 2009 5:11 am

      Mine too, Peggy! It was great. I love the affordable abundance at the produce markets these days.

  2. Sandra permalink
    May 19, 2009 6:09 pm

    Love the blue in particular, what a great way to use up paint, and also a great idea for collage. Your wonderful dinner making me feel quite hungry, hours to go yet before dinner time here!

    • May 20, 2009 5:12 am

      Thanks, Sandra. I should have mentioned that the blue is a toned paper. Don’t you love toned papers?

  3. May 19, 2009 6:32 pm

    I like how I can compare how the texture of the paper works with opaque coverings as opposed to transparent layers. Then the ink line adds while keeping in tune with the movement. I can imagine how they were developed like I can get under your skin and play with you.

    • May 20, 2009 5:14 am

      Yes, Diane! I enjoy that process too. It’s fun to imagine the progression of a piece that someone else has created.

  4. May 19, 2009 6:59 pm

    I love abstract and these two are wonderful.

  5. May 20, 2009 4:51 am

    I love your paper studies, just like a recipe with a little of this, just the right colors to make my heart dance. Oh… your dinner sounded wonderful! Thanks for sharing Martha! xoxo

  6. May 20, 2009 3:13 pm

    Martha, these are lovely… great spacial thing going on! keep up the great work
    pamie

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

