Skip to content

A Purple Painting and Some Saturday Finds

May 16, 2009

 Yesterday flew by without a blog post, and for that I apologize. I’ve been working very hard on several more paintings, and of course most of them are still drying and aren’t ready to photograph. 

But continuing in the spirit of bright and happy colors, here is one. This is more or less a mirror image of the design of the blue one with hearts, but re-interpreted in grape. Why not! Especially since a client who has already purchased the blue one wanted a purple one with hearts. I will leave this one glossy, as I think it adds to the grape jam flavor of the piece.

Purple Jam Hearts

“Grape Jam Hearts” – Acrylic on Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

 

Saturday Finds

And on with the Saturday Finds. I’ve acquired an assortment of different sizes of dominoes. I might make some pendants with them, or maybe refrigerator magnets. And then again I might decide just to throw them into some of my mixed media packets that I’m selling in my Etsy shop and forget the whole thing. But in the meantime, I’ve been looking at different ideas for how to apply art to dominoes, and even how I’d want to make the pendants. Here’s a fun video I found on the subject, incorporating some encaustic wax.

And speaking of encaustics, I just discovered this video featuring artist Gilda Snowden. I love videos of studio visits, and this one is a complete visual feast. I also love her experimental approach to her work.

I wish I had a big studio like that, and wonder if I would fill it up just as fast as I’ve filled up mine.

And another thing. If you look at this purple painting of mine for a minute, you might ask me why I didn’t do it in encaustic. Trust me, I ask myself that same question all the time. I do love encaustics, and am inspired by this video to try some more.

Maybe.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 4:34 pm

    that was a great video to watch Martha, thank you so much.

    I am getting ready to participate in an art show at the beginning of June http://www.3harbours.com
    and I feel an urge to paint some watercolours in a new style (for me!), probably some hare studies.

  2. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    May 16, 2009 5:18 pm

    Hi Martha, Glad you are here today – missed you. I swear I can smell grape jelly for some reason. Haha…

    Loved the video. What a lovely lady. Enjoyed the little video.

    Have a good week ahead. 🙂

  3. May 17, 2009 12:52 am

    Great post! I must admit I loved encaustics from the first time I came across the amazing medium.

    • May 17, 2009 2:54 am

      Pat, I have the stuff to do them. It’s been a long time, but I itch to get back into them at times, especially when I see someone so having such a wonderful time with them. I love the immediacy and the ability to change them just with the application of heat, or scraping.

      They seem to need their own space, which I don’t have right now. Maybe when we move!

  4. May 17, 2009 12:39 pm

    Strange world again!
    Almost Uni Corporate colour as for the encaustic…so very interesting, have now posted my final selection on blog…..nice to seee Saturday finds back.

    • May 17, 2009 8:49 pm

      And nice to see you back, Chris. I know things are crazy busy for you. Hope things are going well for your show.

Trackbacks

  1. Some Links to Inspire « An Artist’s Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

