Skip to content

Art Opening Tonight: Carolina Cleere

May 14, 2009

“Garden of Youth” – Carolina Cleere
Mixed Media on Wood Panel  48 x 36″ 

One of my Brava buddies Carolina Cleere is having her solo show opening tonight at Hillsborough Community College Art Gallery Ybor City in Tampa from 5:30-8  p.m., and of course I’ll be going.

Carol’s work always amazes me. Her intricately composed images are created from her own photographs.  Her subjects are complex and evocative, and are layered with rich iconic imagery. Many of her pieces are done in a life-sized scale and larger.

I was happy to see that there were articles in both of our major papers this morning — the Tampa Tribune and the St. Petersburg Times. I’d say her show is off to a good start.

Update, 8 p.m. Eastern . . . Carol had a wonderful turnout and her show is just beautiful. It runs through June 11th. Gallery hours are M-F 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Another writeup can be seen here at TBO.com.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 3:25 pm

    What stunning images – I would love to see the life size work in particular. And how good is that, to get media coverage. Please pass on my congratulations to Carolina, and best wishes for the exhibition.

  2. May 15, 2009 6:56 pm

    I will, Cath! In fact, I hear she reads this blog, so maybe she will see it first hand. Her work is stunning for sure.

  3. Donovan permalink
    April 12, 2011 11:57 am

    Her work is even more impressive in person. I have a piece on my wall now. Amazing. Beautiful. A tad unnerving. I couldn’t be happier!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

