Skip to content

Painting with Pixels

May 9, 2009

Marshall Geo 6“Geo 6” – Digital Painting 

This is a high resolution scan of one of my paintings, to which I added layers of stripes and spheres. It was created in PhotoShop Elements. I have Elements on my Mac and the full version of PhotoShop on my PC laptop and then I have Corel PhotoPaint on my old PC. I can’t tell you that I like any one of them better than the others. Each one has unique features that I like, and each has its own aggravating quirks.

I will continue learning more in PhotoShop. But for anyone who hasn’t sprung for a digital paint software, I don’t think you can go wrong with PhotoShop Elements.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 11:23 am

    There is a difference between Elements and Photoshop full version: In Elements you have the colour modus for digital photos if you want to prepare them for websites etc. If you want to work for print applications, you need PhotoShop full version, because Elements doesn’t use CMYK. Elements is just as good as the full version if you work for digital applications only.
    If you have questions in the learning process, I’ll be happy to give you hints! Not all is in the handbooks (well, I’m working with older versions, so I may not know the latest features).

  2. May 9, 2009 2:29 pm

    Thanks, Eva. That’s good information to have. My uses for the programs are all fine art images for giclee production, so I haven’t needed to do them in CMYK. However, I think that if I ever needed color separations, and as long as I’m the one doing it, I could just pull them into PhotoShop and do it here. That way I could check the color before printing.

    Thanks for your offer!

  3. May 9, 2009 5:15 pm

    The hard edges of the stripes and circles compliment the free brush strokes very difficult to do only with the brush and masking or by collage. I wondering about how satisfying working with photo shop elements would be.

    • May 10, 2009 7:55 am

      Diane, it’s a lot of fun and absorbing for long stretches of time, but I could never call it satisfying. In the end, the need to manipulate materials becomes insistent.

      I do the digital work for a lot of things like preliminary studies, trying out different color combinations, and for commercial sale of giclees. I like to scan or photograph a painting and play with the colors on screen when I’m stuck for what to do next. It saves a lot of paint!

      But in the end, digital art isn’t enough for me.

  4. May 10, 2009 9:35 pm

    Martha,
    Great post and comments. I’ve just been mulling over a post on digital (re)work, and your experience is a great perspective.

    And, just to add my opinion to the conversation: Photoshop full has had all the web output options for several versions now, and a good relationship with a good service bureau is all you need to fix the CMYK issue from Elements.

    I still prefer using an ancient version of CorelDraw rather than the new version of Adobe Illustrator… but never felt I was getting the results I needed in Corel Paint (so, I gave up on it many versions ago).

  5. May 11, 2009 4:58 am

    Thanks for the input, Edgar. When you write about this, I’d like to see what your observations are.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

