Skip to content

Magic Collages

May 6, 2009

I’m having a little fun creating some digital collages this week. I needed to do something that doesn’t make a mess and this was the perfect creative outlet.

You might remember my recent post about collage composition as I was creating a series of physical collages made with paper, paint, and glue. This is the same principle, really.

So here’s what I did. I created a “magic collage.” It’s a matrix from which any number and variety of smaller works can be created. I love to find smaller compositions within a larger one by cropping. I’ve been doing it for so many years that I do it unconsciously.

Here’s the original image

antique-collage-sheet-1-example

 

 

And here are some examples of crops derived from the original.

 

 

antique-collage-sheet-1-crop-1

antique-collage-sheet-1-crop-2

 

antique-collage-sheet-1-crop-3

 

antique-collage-sheet-1-crop-4

 

If you’ve never explored this, I hope you’ll think about having some fun cropping your own images to get interesting compositions. If you want to do it the old fashioned way, just make a viewfinder out of a small picture mat or even a slide frame. Or you can make one to the size that you prefer out of a paper rectangle or square (or a circle!) Move it around on top of random sketches in your sketchbook, your collages, photographs, or even abstract paintings, until you discover something interesting.

I used to crop all kinds of imagery this way — some of my own studies that weren’t quite “art” and when I found something I liked, I would often re-draw the new image and scale it up onto a large canvas.

If you want, you can do the same thing on screen in your graphic program of choice, just as I’ve done here.

My magic collages are going to be available on Etsy for use by jewelry artists and to use as pieces for collage. They are delivered in high resolution jpegs. To learn more about these, click here and click on the section for Magic Collages.

Please let me know in the comments if you’ve discovered something new using this method. I’d love to hear about it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 12:21 pm

    Beautiful and elegant!

  2. May 6, 2009 1:23 pm

    this looks fun! i’ll have to try it with work… thanks!

  3. May 6, 2009 2:17 pm

    Great idea – going to give it a try

  4. May 7, 2009 4:29 am

    Yes, Rambling Rose — I hope you will. Just look at your blog header for starters!

  5. May 7, 2009 7:27 am

    Beautiful images!

  6. May 7, 2009 9:22 am

    This is a gorgeous collage of graphic images Martha. I often work this way myself and find many “hidden” ideas and compositions. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a message, it’s great to have visitorsx

    • May 7, 2009 9:26 am

      Thanks Lumilyon. I appreciate your stopping by. It’s nice to have found you through Seth’s blogroll. He does have the eye, doesn’t he?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

