Skip to content

Cupcake

April 29, 2009

hot-pink-with-sprinkles-3d-sm

“Cupcake” – Acrylic on Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

We’ll be saying goodbye to our little cupcake today and heading home. I promise to update everyone on some of the fun we had in Philadelphia. This time it was all about family and that new baby girl! When we come back again we might consider branching out to some of the galleries and the art museum. There’s plenty of time for that.

See you tomorrow!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 8:44 am

    this is the perfect title for this one– reminded me of the kind of birthday cakes/cupcakes my daughter loved– heavy on pink and heavy on sprinkles! thanks for the happy inspiration! namaste Elis.

    • April 29, 2009 5:18 pm

      Elis, I now have one in mind that is lavender with all colors of “gumdrops” for embellishment.

  2. April 29, 2009 9:34 am

    This one makes me sooooo…. hungry for a cupcake with pink frosting! xoxo

  3. April 29, 2009 9:45 am

    Hi Martha!
    this one reminds me of what we call Liquorish Allsorts not sure if you have them in America ?
    Degree Show preparations hotting up!
    been given a excellent space and room for my paintings to breath.
    Studio gets cleared of debris next week and floor and walls repainted about a couple of weeks to pay around in our new spacec

    • April 29, 2009 5:20 pm

      Yes we do have licorice allsorts, but I think they have a different name. I can’t wait to see your show, Chris! Please let us know when we can see pictures, OK?

  4. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:33 am

    Hi Martha, Welcome home! I love this ‘cupcake’ piece. What a great idea. Can you imagine a child’s room with about six of these in various ‘flavours’!

    Are they real cake sprinkles Martha? I’m curious if they preserve under a fixative. Or would they fade.

    🙂

    • April 29, 2009 5:21 pm

      Thanks Sherrill! I can imagine a child’s room with a bunch of these in different “flavors.” In fact, that was the inspiration for these.

      No, they aren’t real cupcake sprinkles. They’re bits of real acrylic paint! All of it is acrylic.

  5. April 29, 2009 6:35 pm

    yummy…..I will show this one to my son……what is your site where you sell these?

    Miriam

    • April 30, 2009 3:35 am

      Thank you, Miriam. These are not for sale online. They are sold in galleries. One is in Key West — the Key West Art Bar — and the other one where they are sold is Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa, FL.

  6. April 30, 2009 8:05 pm

    That piece just puts a big smile on my face!!!

    And yes, you MUST do the Philadelphia Museum of Art. It’s fab. We were there last for the Frida Khalo show prior to moving south.

    • May 1, 2009 4:17 am

      John, I think I’m going to have to make a trip back just to do the art stops, especially the museum. Just make a business trip of it.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

