Skip to content

Happy Monday

April 6, 2009

Mondays are always welcome here. That used to not be the case when I had to drive somewhere else to work. But now that I work here, Mondays always promise new beginnings and goals, if only for the week.

My very modest goal for this week is to get more new items listed in my Etsy shop for collage. In that shop I plan to add more and more downloadable sheets in several different sizes, plus keep the creativity packs going.

Over the weekend I spent about three hours painting some new collage papers. My husband, who is now my ever-present business advisor, asked me how much I was charging for a pack of those. He was shocked when I told him my price. He gave me a long speech about how I would never be paid for my time, how the painted sheets are art and not just something printed in a factory, etc., etc. I told him that I really love doing them, and so what if the price starts low. If I can’t keep up with the “demand” then I’ll raise it.

Meanwhile, the painting for galleries is going well. Here is another one.

ritual-39-smRitual 39″ – Acrylic and graphite on cradled panel
8 x 8 x 2″

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 3:11 pm

    Good art material is essential for the result. If you have to fight with inferior tools or paper, paint etc., the inspiration is lost to the degree of a serious disturbance of the creative process. It is different if you decide to deal with unusual material (like package paper) right from the start. But even such a project may get stuck when you reach the limits of the applied matter.
    (Say hello to your husband!)
    Price… (sigh) … we don’t get what it’s really worth, but what people are ready to pay.

    • April 7, 2009 4:20 am

      What a train of thought you have sent me on, Eva. Big subject for a blog post. Actually you’ve covered a couple of interesting topics of conversation here.

      As for price, I subcsribe to the artists’s definition of worth. But the rest of the world doesn’t.

  2. April 6, 2009 3:32 pm

    This is nice Martha, I really like it – as it reminds me of a serene landscape. The colours (or lack of) are very calming! and the graphite is such a perfect touch!

    Just a bit of news to say – my Arabella bag that I donated to the rabbit rescue to raise funds in their raffle – made $362! and is now on it’s way to the Netherlands!

    • April 7, 2009 4:21 am

      Thanks Annette – and congratulations on your successful fund raising contribution! That is wonderful. Arabella can be very proud of you.

  3. April 6, 2009 4:55 pm

    I must be nice to have your husband’s support though, Martha. While the economy so bad, I think we’ve all dropped our prices. the main thing is to keep on selling.
    Vikki

  4. April 7, 2009 4:22 am

    I agree, Vikki. To be selling at all is a thrill.

  5. April 7, 2009 9:01 am

    Although the crisis is being rubbed in by the media, people simply ignore it. On the contrary, 1 Mio people have ordered a brand new car. On the other hand, the poor (like me) were already poor before the crisis.

    • April 7, 2009 9:13 am

      Yes, Eva. I think the media spreads a lot of gloom and doom, to the point of being tuned out by regular people.

      Those of us who learned a long time ago to be resourceful are more resilient and can weather a lot.

  6. April 7, 2009 11:30 am

    Martha

    I’m impressed by your creativity, not only with your art, but with what you’re offering. It can be challenging to find reasonable, lower price points that you can feel good about. As long as you’re enjoying it, immediate payback can be secondary to other benefits, such as exposure and making new contacts.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

