Skip to content

Creative Wandering

March 23, 2009

Today I set out to post about my project of sorting through all my collage papers and other treasures, with the intention of getting rid of a bunch of it before we move. After all, I have enough collage stuff to last a few lifetimes.

So I took a couple of pictures of the array of “stuff” and uploaded them. But when I looked at them on screen, they started to look like paintings. So I played around with them in PhotoShop and made a couple of crops, and here’s what I saw. Being an artist is a never-ending source of fun and playing what if.

collage-stuff-1

Photo 1

collage-stuff-1-after

Photo 1 PhotoShopped

collage-stuff-1-crop-1

Crop 1

collage-stuff-1-crop-21

Crop 2

collage-stuff-2

Photo 2 (Rotated 180, since I liked the composition better this way.)
The blobs at the top are some tea that I had just dripped on some old maps to stain them.

collage-stuff-2-afterPhoto 2 PhotoShopped
I changed the color at the top.

collage-stuff-2-crop-1

Photo 2, crop 1

collage-stuff-2-crop-2

Photo 2, crop 2

I get all excited about new ideas for paintings. My husband just rolls his eyes and says, “Yeah, that’s just what you need. More ideas for paintings.” He’s kidding of course!

Bull Skull Hollow

One more thing — I just have to brag here about my sister and her husband, whom I’ve written about before. This article is from the Times Daily in Florence, Alabama, featuring a recent wild flower walk on their property, for which they hosted the local Wild Flower Society and the local Environmental Alliance. Just think – when I get moved I can hike those woods any time I want. Here is their website with a history and pictures of the ongoing labor of love.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 11:42 am

    Great idea! I like the photos, before and after Photoshop!

    • March 23, 2009 1:08 pm

      Thanks Amanda. By the way, I love your quotes from your students about masks. Hilarious!

  2. March 25, 2009 8:00 am

    Exquisite idea! I love your painted papers too.

  3. Sandra permalink
    March 26, 2009 7:57 pm

    Love it all and especially photo 2 of crop 2 which I have printed off as it has given me an idea – will use as the starting off point for a painting. Needed inspiration.

  4. RaiulBaztepo permalink
    March 28, 2009 4:58 pm

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

