Skip to content

More Music for Visual Artists

March 12, 2009

a-new-day

“A New Day” – Acrylic on Canvas (painted to music)
36 x 48″ – SOLD

Music enhances the creative process for many visual artists, myself included. I thought I’d share some recent discoveries.

Meditative Sound

Sometimes just sitting for a little while in the early morning with meditative sounds can put you in a creative space for the rest of the day. A perfect example of this is Shakuhachi music by Mary Lu Brandwein featured on artist Robin Janning’s site. Brandwein’s introduction states, in part:  “Shakuhachi music pieces can be performed within any religious/or not context. The sound invites deep listening which allows us to access our Innerness.” If you listen to “Suchness,” by clicking on the link at the top of her page, you can easily see in just a few minutes how this music can be profoundly calming and can flow through you. I personally believe that regular meditation can bring body, mind, and spirit back into balance. I don’t practice enough of what I preach, however.

Music to Move You

I was introduced to this collection yesterday on Twitter, and if you haven’t seen and heard it, I hope you’ll take a few minutes out of your day to experience it. If this doesn’t get your creative juices flowing, I don’t know what will. It is thru-you.com — a mix of unrelated YouTube videos created by young Israeli jazz/funk musician Kutiman. And if you like that, he has a CD and music downloads available on Amazon. I have subscribed to his YouTube channel so I won’t miss any new treasures. I know these were created in 2007, but hadn’t heard of them until now.

Those are my newest offerings. Do you have some new music to create by that you’d like to share? Or any absolute favorites?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 12:05 pm

    I tend to work in silence, except for the background noise of our aviary birds whistling and calling to each other. It’s like being in a forest.

  2. March 12, 2009 2:12 pm

    Kandinsky worked out a fusion of Schönberg and his own vision of colour in “Der gelbe Klang”.

    • March 12, 2009 3:52 pm

      Yes, Kandinsky painted music rather than just painting “to” music. Not all of us can make that happen.

  3. March 12, 2009 2:14 pm

    Oh yes. The black square is my fusion of Malevitch and Punk Rock (ahem, no, it was coincidencd)

  4. March 12, 2009 3:53 pm

    Eva:

    😉

  5. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    March 12, 2009 5:56 pm

    That’s a lovely piece Martha. Do you ever use paint sticks on your pieces? If you do Martha, do you use them on top of acrylic – perhaps on the last layer just before fixing it?

    I have watched a video by Rebecca Cowell working and she uses oil sticks – but she paints with oil. I would like to make that kind application but not sure how to use them with acrylic.

    Thanks for the photoshop info I asked about Martha. It was a great help.

    • March 13, 2009 4:57 am

      Sherrill, I have used paint sticks on my pieces, though I don’t do it on a regular basis, because they aren’t compatible with acrylics. But I have used them on top of acrylic.

      If you like gestural marks, try watercolor crayons. You can use those on your acrylic paint surface and then either spray lightly with clear acrylic spray, or even very gently brush clear acrylic medium over that.

  6. March 12, 2009 6:21 pm

    I absolutely love to listen to Jeremy Larson- Salvation Club. He’s a local emerging artist here in Springfield, Missouri. You should try his music!!
    Elizabeth

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

