Skip to content

Leaves and More Leaves

March 11, 2009

leaves-sm2sm

“Leaves” – Digitally Enhanced Photograph

These are ligustrum leaves that collect on the ground in my back yard. In the front of the house we have a huge oak tree that keeps shedding and shedding leaves. It amazes me that you can look up and see new green leaves all over these trees, but they still come up with more old dead ones to throw at us.

Raking is hard on my back, so we have someone come and do that for us. But I can at least take pictures of them and play with the colors.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 3:33 pm

    We tend to get most leaf fall in the autumn so was surprised to see about your leaf fall in the spring!

  2. March 11, 2009 5:41 pm

    Chris, where you live is normal. Florida is not normal. We have no decent change of seasons. What you might call “fall” comes in February for us. The leaves die and fall off as the new ones are budding.

    Strange place.

  3. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    March 12, 2009 5:58 am

    Martha, that digital is absolutely stunning!

    Can you tell me Martha, what photoshop or digital package I should get if I want to be able to play with painterly style software to rehearse or preview colour and design. That style would be similar to your ‘big blue’ and little gems. In other words not hard edge.

    Thanks

    • March 12, 2009 7:44 am

      Sherrill, you can download GIMP, a free graphics software that I’ve heard great things about. Here is the link:

      http://www.gimp.org/

      A much cheaper version of PhotoShop is PhotoShop Elements. I have both the Elements and the full version. I can tell you that Elements is all I can ever imagine needing for painting on screen.

      The time these programs have saved me in testing color combinations, composing, and resolving composition issues with my paintings has been enormous — not to mention the savings in materials.

  4. March 12, 2009 12:03 pm

    WOW!

  5. March 12, 2009 6:23 pm

    This is GORGEOUS! OMG! I’d love a few yards of cloth printed with this!

  6. Doug Stanley permalink
    March 12, 2009 6:23 pm

    Martha, Really nice. I didn’t know you were working with photographic images. I especially like the sense of shadows. _ Doug

    • March 13, 2009 5:29 am

      Hey Doug! So nice of you to stop by. Glad you like this. It’s wonderful fun. Of course I’m no photographer and don’t even play one on TV!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

