Skip to content

From Digital Collage to Paper Collage

February 19, 2009

Here’s my dirty little secret. Shhhh — don’t tell anyone. I couldn’t stand another minute of not getting my hands messy so yesterday I spent some time starting some collages with actual cut paper and glue. Then today I spent some more time doing the same thing.

As a result I have several new collages, all 5 x 7 inches that are mounted on 9 x 12 art paper. I was able to keep everything confined to the kitchen table in various boxes and tubs, so that if we got a call to show the house I could whisk it all away in a few minutes. What a way to have to work!!

Here is one of my favorites of the resulting collages. I’ll show more in the next few posts.

circles3

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 3:35 pm

    I love the texture and the color- very peaceful

  2. February 19, 2009 4:01 pm

    Thank you Terri! Not exactly as it looks in person, but close.

  3. February 19, 2009 7:16 pm

    Very nice Martha – the top layer looks so delicate laid on top of the floral.

    😀 eirdre

    • February 20, 2009 6:04 am

      Glad you like it, Deirdre. I like to save up swatches of delicate handmade papers and use those in collage.

  4. Sandra permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:25 pm

    I too love the colours and texture. I think it’s great you succumbed to temptation and did your beautiful collage, do hope that you sell soon so that you can go back to your “creative clutter”. It must be terribly hard having to be ready to have an open home with so little warning. I shall look forward to more of these beautiful collages.

    • February 20, 2009 6:02 am

      Thank you Sandra. I woke up this morning smiling about doing those collages. It felt so good to play.

  5. February 20, 2009 2:07 am

    Like I said after your last post, I suspected you couldn’t last much longer without getting your hands into something! I know the feeling well…
    I like the result, and love the clean wide white margins – it makes the work look so fresh.
    I have had such a sick wee dog that I have not done anything for a week now – all my time and energy goes into nursing her.

  6. February 20, 2009 2:48 am

    There is a strong connection between your paper collage and what you’ve done previously on the computer. I recently had a talk with my computer savvy sister who told me how strongly Photoshop and other image softwares had influenced artists in the used of several images and transparencies. She’s right, isn’t she ? LOL

    • February 20, 2009 5:54 am

      Ghislaine, I think your sister is right. I’ve done digital art since the old Amiga computers and so I think everything I do is influenced by it to some extent. Even when I was painting with patterns, a lot of those were first done on the computer.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

