Skip to content

Always Inspired by Patterns

February 10, 2009

Patterns always grab me. I love to arrange small things into a larger arrangement. That’s why I enjoy painting on small uniform squares. Together in large groupings they remind me of a Charm Quilt. My mother once hand pieced and hand quilted an entire Grandmother’s Flower Garden Quilt because she didn’t have access to a sewing machine at the time. I still have the quilt.

There is a little die-cut origami book of Miriam Schapiro images, “The Kaleidoscope Book Mobile” hanging in my office. It unfolds out to about 36″ long with 28 different squares, each one with an image of one of her beautiful patterned paintings and collages, and folds together into a compact little 3-1/2″ square hardcover book. I’ve been looking up at it every day for about ten years and never grow tired of it. It never fails to make me smile. It was printed in 1993. I bought it a couple of years after that at the Polk Museum of Art in Lakeland, Florida, where I attended a talk by Schapiro during her one woman show.

Playing with pattern today, I came up with this. It’s quick and rather crude, just thinking out loud, but I never get tired of doing this sort of thing.

patterns1

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 4:20 pm

    I am so attracted to pattern especially when it has the clean graphic quality you are using here. Crude it isn’t; this is quite a beautiful piece for a day’s work. The colour at the end was a leap of joy for me. Again I love you work. I can’t say it enough. Do you know the work of Robert Kuchner? He was part of that whole decoration movement that Schapiro was part of . I have a link to his work on my site.

    I grew up in a house where scraps of fabric were precious. My aunt in New York would send pieces of fabric to my grandmother. The next think you know they appeared on my bed. I think quilts are such an important part of our cultural history, the patterns may be different from place to place,but the connections are the same.

  2. February 10, 2009 7:06 pm

    Thank you Margaret! Maybe I’ll think on this little study for a while. These things keep me going..

    Yes, I adore Robert Kushner’s work, though I hadn’t remembered to look at it for a while. I saw these just now and had to smile.

    http://www.artnet.com/artist/9930/robert-kushner.html

    They are simply wonderful!!

    Quilts are definitely an important part of our cultural history. They deserve to be elevated to high art. The Gees Bend ladies come to mind.

  3. February 10, 2009 7:11 pm

    Martha those are awesome. I can see doing something like that as a cool wall design. I can’t wait to see what else you come up with.

  4. February 10, 2009 7:20 pm

    Tracy, I’m glad these get your wheels turning. Maybe I’ll play around with some more and put them up. All I need is just the smallest encouragement!

  5. February 11, 2009 12:10 pm

    About half way down, in blues and purples? Stunning! Love the whole too, mind you.

  6. February 11, 2009 12:52 pm

    Thank you Cath — glad you like. Doing this digitally is nice, fun, and relaxing. But then it makes me want to paint it, or sew it, or etch it . . . or something!! That would be the challenge.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

