Skip to content

Busy Studio Day

February 9, 2009

marthas-new-grouping-02_05-sm

New Paintings Delivered Today – 8 x 8 x 2″ panels

We had another Realtor’s open house yesterday so the weekend was spent going through the house and the outside areas in hopes of making everything beautiful. By the time it was time for the open house, we were exhausted. There will be at least two more Sunday open houses in succession.

So this morning, instead of giving myself a much-deserved day off, I had to get a bunch of my boxes ready for delivery to Michael Murphy Gallery. They have just recently sold several and needed more. As I mentioned before, I’m trying to stay ahead of the galleries. The work has been completed and photographed for at least a couple of weeks now, but this morning I needed to paint all the sides, sign them, put wires on the backs, and inventory them. I tend to leave those non-creative things till last!

When I make a gallery delivery, I always create a Consignment Record in duplicate using a simple Word table. The columns go like this:

Thumbnail (1.5″ jpeg, give or take.)

Title

Medium

Dimensions

Price (Retail or gallery cost, depending on how the gallery wants it shown)

After the table I provide a place for both the gallery’s signature and mine. The galleries like for me to sign their copy as well. I keep a gallery signed copy for my records. With thumbnails, it makes it easy for both of us to keep up with what’s where.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 2:19 pm

    those little paintings are really nice. i especially like the two with the black polka dots on them. thanks for adding a bit of your business practices as well.

  2. February 9, 2009 6:02 pm

    I like your idea of providing the thumbnail. I am currently recording everything else in my records for galleries. It is so important to have thorough references for you work, especially if you are dealing with a number of galleries.

    I love the matrix of images. This is one of my favourite ways to present small works. I could look all day.

  3. February 9, 2009 8:57 pm

    oh these look so yummy hung on the wall together. I want them all! They have a slightly different look than some of the other little “colour poetry” abstracts. You have a wonderful eye. They have a confident, fun air about them. When I look at them I wonder if they take a long time to create each one, or if some are long and some are really spontaneous? Anyway they’re gorgeous.

    Carole

  4. February 9, 2009 9:12 pm

    Simply luscious! Reminds me of a bag of baby Jelly Bellies!

  5. February 10, 2009 6:30 am

    Elisa, thank you for commenting. Glad you like the polka dot ones. Those are popular with my “test market” (local artist friends!) I so apologize for not knowing about your new baby. Congratulations!! What an intense and happy time!

  6. February 10, 2009 6:31 am

    Margaret, I so agree that you can’t document too carefully. It really pays you back in the long run. I can definitely see how your work lends itself to grid arrangements. I think my love for grouping small things comes from my mother’s quilts.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

