Skip to content

A New Year, A Blank Canvas

December 31, 2008

gentle-wind-med

Gentle Wind, Acrylic on Canvas – 48 x 36″

The days and weeks right after the holidays are my favorite time of the year. Things magically start to quiet down and there’s more time to think and plan. I feel as excited about a brand new year ahead, with all of its possibilities and opportunities, as I do a big blank canvas. It’s a chance to make new beginnings.

I don’t make resolutions. It’s simply a case of having a seasonal break from business, family and social demands to allow for a little breathing room. I like to begin this process from the inside out. It usually goes something like this:

  • Evaluating my physical and mental well-being and acknowledging the improvements that are needed. The two are inseparable, so they must be addressed together.
  • Surveying my surroundings and asking myself if they are a help or a hindrance to my creativity.
  • Assessing whether or not my art career is going in the direction I want it to go, what marketing efforts are working and what changes are needed.
  • Reviewing my body of work and the directions it has taken, what to keep and what to abandon.

Every one of these things requires that I do something concrete. This is not just a thinking exercise. But If I treat these as something to get stressed out over, I’ll negate my ability to create.

So what are your thoughts when things get quiet and you see a whole new year of opportunity in front of you?

Note:  This painting is not a blank canvas. But it represents a series that I want to continue in the coming months. It’s not a new direction, and not even a new painting. It’s just one that makes me happy. And isn’t that the best motivation of all?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2008 2:41 pm

    An intelligent and insightful approach to the New Year. I do something very similar.

    Happy New Year!

    E.

  2. December 31, 2008 3:36 pm

    A truly beautiful painting. Wishing you a Happy New Year!

  3. December 31, 2008 6:34 pm

    Hey, great post and appreciate your comments on mine. I basically do the same thing.

    I am glad we reconnected again! And thanks for adding my link to your blog…I am doing the same.

    Let’s stay in touch as artists and shine in 09

    sjb

  4. December 31, 2008 9:13 pm

    Sharon it’s great to see you again. We will stay in touch and we will shine!

  5. December 31, 2008 10:35 pm

    Hi Martha,

    Happy New Year to you. I usually reflect on works I have created, and not all are kept. The older I get the less sentimental about my creativity I become. Strange but true!
    I always have new ideas in my head, sometimes they just take time to come into fruition. It can be weeks, months and even years for some of them.
    I always have a strong desire to move forward and it has never lessened over time, though time dictates its creation!

    kind regards, Annette

  6. January 1, 2009 9:55 am

    Happy New Year Annette! Isn’t it interesting how that works? I think maybe as we get older and wiser, we see how unlimited creativity really is. Then we know it’s pointless to cling to one thing.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

