Skip to content

Big Blue Painting Finished

December 12, 2008

OK, the big blue painting has declared itself finished.

work-in-progress-final

Looking Beyond Blue
Acrylic on Canvas, 36 x 60″

I liked the colors in the version that I had before, but I just decided to follow my intuition and see where it would take me. I painted, sat and looked, and waited. Then I painted and looked some more. Then finally, after a few hours of this, it said “OK – you’re done!” It wanted to be blue all along, and who was I to stand in its way?

Still, those colors underneath all those blues are very much in the back of my mind for another one.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 5:30 pm

    I love the blue in this, with the azure and the green (as it appears on my monitor) and I like the depth to the front base area! with the underscore of deep blue

  2. December 12, 2008 6:54 pm

    Thank you Annette! Yes, I tried to use every blue in my palette, plus some greens achieved by adding lemon yellow. Glad you like!

    I’m loving your new things on Etsy!

  3. December 12, 2008 7:12 pm

    The colours and what does or doesn’t show through are fab! I’m visualizing the true scale and it must be awesome :))

    • December 13, 2008 10:55 am

      Thanks Bee. The underneath colors actually show more than in the photo. Those dimensions aren’t huge by some standards, but big enough to get a workout with the brushes.

  4. December 12, 2008 8:33 pm

    Martha,

    This is lovely. For me, the sitting and looking (and listening) are always key. Definitely “beyond blue”!

    Robin

    • December 13, 2008 10:53 am

      Yes, Robin. The sitting and looking and listening. Good for the spirit. Glad you like it.

  5. December 13, 2008 12:52 pm

    OMG it’s gorgeous!! What a finish from yellow bus to sky blue!! I absolutely love it. And it’s a big one!

    D

  6. Mary Cummings permalink
    December 14, 2008 1:40 am

    I LOVE IT!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.