Skip to content

Documenting Your Work

September 4, 2008
Elements 6, Acrylic on Panel, 8 x 8 x 2"

Elements 6, Acrylic on Panel, 8 x 8 x 2

Here is one that was sold in a gallery early last year. I simply didn’t have time to scan it at the time, because I was getting ready for a show and had to get it out the door. This was the best I could do at resurrecting the image from an installation shot taken in the gallery. I’m glad I have this much, because I am always referring to previous work for clues to where I’ve been and where I want to go.

Bottom line: Don’t do what I did. I try very hard to properly photograph every single piece that goes out of my studio. I am getting better at it.

The “how” of photographing your work can be simple or it can be complex — expensive or inexpensive. Here is a good link for photographing your art. It’s close to the way I do mine. Of course, if it’s small enough you can just scan it.

What are you working on today? Whatever it is, make it fun.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 5:22 pm

    Thanks for the link about photographing art work. There is some good information there – I hadn’t thought to place the work at an angle to get better daylight bouncing off. I just started seriously keeping track and documenting all my work at the beginning of this year. It’s a lot to keep up with but makes finding images so handy in the long run.

    And thank you for the comment on my pastel piece – I am a great admirer of your work!

  2. September 4, 2008 6:02 pm

    Ann, that angle thing helps a lot. I have to play around with it each time, depending on where the light is coming from.

  3. September 5, 2008 12:26 am

    Good link.

    I love the doggy. LOL!

  4. September 5, 2008 7:48 am

    Oh John, that is totally part of my photographic process. Keep the dog(s) away!

  5. September 6, 2008 3:15 am

    Your work on textures is great and fascinating, and your whole blog very interesting! Loved the post about paints skins!

  6. September 6, 2008 9:09 am

    Thank you delph, I appreciate your stopping by. I’ve checked out your blog and enjoy your wonderful drawing — especially the cats!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

