Skip to content

Chelsea Galleries: A Beginning

March 31, 2007

Well, I might as well jump right in and make a start with our whirlwind tour of the Chelsea galleries. My big problem is that we tried to see too much, we went too fast, there were too many of us, and I didn’t take notes! Sounds very reminiscent of my ArtBasel experience. That means I am still trying to sort out my most memorable stops by visiting this great site for Chelsea Galleries.


Here’s my son at Dillon Gallery in front of paintings in the current Michael Ryan show “Some Trees.” As you probably would guess, I enjoyed these nice, large-scale paintings of simple abstracted landscapes in delicious colors.

The show (which ends today) of small, delicate abstract drawings Jay Kelly at Jim Kempner was a standout. The drawings were memorable in their Zen-like quietness. I liked the smallest ones best of all — only 2-1/2″ square. I also enjoyed Kemper’s architecture of stacked glass cubes, pictured here (click on “gallery info.”)

At Gagosian were Vera Lutter’s huge camera obscura negative prints of industrial scenes and cities surrounded by water — ethereal and other-worldly.

The painterly and abstract qualities of John Evans‘ landscapes and seascapes at Gallery Henoch very much appealed to my own constant inner quest for the perfect landscape. He stops painting when the work is finished. A trick I haven’t yet learned. Click on the individual artist’s name and you can view several of these pieces.

Enough for today. After all, I have to save more for the next installment!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 1, 2007 12:49 pm

    Thanks, I needed that. Loved the Large Abstract Landscapes,

    Linda S.

  2. Angela permalink
    April 1, 2007 10:02 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Love abstracts as well. Congradulations! 🙂

  3. Johnnie Scoutten permalink
    April 3, 2007 11:09 am

    Great post.

  4. MLE permalink
    April 5, 2007 10:14 am

    Great post with wonderful imagery. Micheal Ryan’s work really jumped out at me! Thanks for sharing!! ML

  5. Martha Marshall permalink
    April 5, 2007 10:22 am

    Glad you all enjoyed these along with me. Yes, ML, I can see how Ryan’s paintings would resonate with you.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

