Skip to content

Getting My Life Back

January 19, 2014

The past three weeks have been devoted to my little Abby the whippet with her injured leg and the surgery to fix it (details at the bottom of my last post.) Last night was my first night of uninterrupted sleep since she hurt her leg the day after Christmas. I don’t know what it is about animals, but I think it’s their complete dependency on us that makes us tend to treat them like infants. I found myself in a mode of sleeping with one eye and one ear open, or getting up with her to comfort her or to make sure she was warm, or to see if she needed covers or a pill. Many nights I have just sat up in the recliner with my pillow for most of the night, trying to get some proper rest during the day when her Dad could take over. But last night was a turning point, and I feel like a new person. The fog is lifting. She’s healing well, and has even started to put her foot down with the one injured leg. So we’re slowly getting our life back.

Here are two of the newest collages from my session that went so well, which I wrote about in my last post. Maybe today I’ll try to repeat the experience. That would be so nice.

Loops Series, All's Fair - Collage, 6x8" Mounted on 8x10" Backing

Loops Series, All’s Fair – Collage, 6×8″ Mounted on 8×10″ Backing

Shuffle - Collage, 6x6" on 8x10" Backing

Shuffle – Collage, 6×6″ on 8×10″ Backing

My collection of fabulous papers is growing, thanks to my Gelli plate . . .

photo 2

. . . not to mention the secondary papers that result from depositing surplus paint from the brayers and brushes. Hint: I sometimes like to use things like old maps, brown paper, and magazine pages for depositing extra paint, to make them more interesting.

photo 1

Now all I need are the time and energy to play with them.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Tina permalink
    January 19, 2014 11:53 am

    Life definitely happens…rearranging all our best laid plans! I am glad your little Abby is doing better, and here’s hoping you can get back to some good nights of rest!

  2. January 19, 2014 1:09 pm

    You’re definitely inspiring Martha… Time and energy are an understatement for us artists with “family” commitments. Hope your pup does well. I can so relate to your recent depletion of energy. I have an aging Wheaten, nearly 15, that my husband and I have been shift-working his geriatric care for the past six months. Life seems to be full of reflective pauses doesn’t it?

    • January 19, 2014 2:47 pm

      Thank you Ozzie. I know, we have a 16-year-old mixed breed doggie who may need lots of TLC before long. She’s amazing now, just can’t see or hear well at all.

  3. joarty1 permalink
    January 19, 2014 1:36 pm

    Glad you are getting back to normal. poor Abby. Have you thought of joining the International Collage Exchange this year? For details check my blog:
    http://jomurray-art.blogspot.com.au/

    • January 19, 2014 2:47 pm

      Jo, I have done the exchange three times over the years. I really ought to — am still considering it. Thanks!

  4. Sandra permalink
    January 19, 2014 2:06 pm

    I am pleased to hear that Abby is improving and hope she keeps up the good work. You certainly are having a lovely time with your colourful collages and papers. Hope you are back to good nights sleep soon.

  5. Denise Spillane permalink
    January 19, 2014 5:35 pm

    Thank you for sharing. So glad your baby is getting better. Heartbreaking when they are hurt.

    • January 19, 2014 7:14 pm

      Thank you, Denise. I hate when they hurt and can’t tell you how it feels. We’re on the mend now I think.

  6. January 19, 2014 7:20 pm

    Ilike to use algebra or calculus texbooks or ones with foreign print to print or paint on also. I can get them for free here at a recycling place, but you could probably find them cheap at a recycling or used book place. I like the way the formulas show through the paint as a design element.

    • January 20, 2014 6:23 am

      Textbooks are such a great idea, Sue! We have a large used book store inside our local library. I need to see what they have. Buying from them helps the library too!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

