Skip to content

More Stencil and Gelli Plate Experiments

December 30, 2013

Here are more of my experiments using DecoArt stencils with the Gelli Plate for creating an array of collage papers.

This is one of the collages that I created using a simple DecoArt Stencil “Bon Voyage.” Several collages were inspired by this stencil in the same way that I worked with the last stencil “Oopsy Daisy.”

The Bon Voyage stencil is a whole sheet of names of international cities. Rather than making the city names my focus, I have reversed the letters and overlapped others. They were printed on top of paper that was already painted or, in some cases, maps:

Bon Voyage 1 - Collage with Stencils and Hand Painted Papers, 8x8 on 12x12" backing

Bon Voyage 1 – Collage with Stencils and Hand Painted Papers, 8×8 on 12×12″ backing

Each collage gave me inspiration for the next one.

Bon Voyage 2, Collage, 6x6 on 8x8" Backing

Bon Voyage 2, Collage, 6×6 on 8×8″ Backing

And the next . . .

Bon Voyage 3 - Collage, 8x8 on 12x12" Backing

Bon Voyage 3 – Collage, 8×8 on 12×12″ Backing

Fun times in the studio!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2013 7:51 am

    Martha, these collages indeed look like you are enjoying your time in the studio. Lovely work and, so funny, I have just about written a post on asemic writing which I seem to discover almost ‘everywhere’ now (now that I know the meaning of the word that is)!

  2. December 30, 2013 8:19 am

    I love these and the colors are right up my alley.

  3. December 30, 2013 10:11 am

    I love the color mix with the dove grays and the backward letters so they become shapes instead of something I can “read”; beautiful. I have pinned your work on Pinterest ; I enjoy
    reading what you say especially since I am a fledgling at this blogging. Thank you. Doris

    • December 30, 2013 12:34 pm

      Thank you so much, Doris! I’ll check out your blog and your Pinterest as well.

      • January 11, 2014 8:04 am

        I found your board on Pinterest and am following it and look forward to seeing more paintings and collages. Thank you,
        Doris

      • January 11, 2014 2:10 pm

        Thank you, Doris. Welcome aboard!

  4. December 30, 2013 10:13 am

    I absolutely love these. What an effect! Must get out my gelli plate again. :)
    HAPPY NEW YEAR Martha.

  5. December 30, 2013 10:24 am

    me again. I forgot to tell you I love that stencil. Can you share the manufacturer?

  6. joarty1 permalink
    December 30, 2013 12:19 pm

    Gorgeous pieces…clever you.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

