Skip to content

Textured with Sand, Sparkled by Sunlight

August 31, 2013
Tierra 17 - Acrylic and Sand on Cradled Panel, 10x10x2 inches

Tierra 17 – Acrylic and Sand on Cradled Panel, 10x10x2 inches

I enjoyed the process of creating this painting, with many layers of built-up textures and lots of transparency. Part of the texture is sand, and with the high gloss gel, creates a glare that is difficult to photograph in my quick outdoor setup. For instance, where you see little pinpoints of white, you are seeing reflected sunlight. But I hope it gives you some idea. I’ve gone back and forth about how much gloss to use in my paintings. I think the individual painting has to dictate that decision.

Sunlight and sand can’t be all bad.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2013 11:19 am

    A couple of the best gift of nature combinations of life – sunlight and sand. And, you have captured it with this piece of your art.

  2. patqu permalink
    August 31, 2013 12:09 pm

    love love this piece. thank you for sharing.Seems perfect to me!

  3. August 31, 2013 1:46 pm

    Oooh, Martha, this is awesome!!! You’ve got some incredible texture, in the upper left it almost looks like some fantastic polished stone of some sort! Lovely!

  4. August 31, 2013 2:05 pm

    first of all,I love your small square format.Your combination of materials is really inspiring,I feel it must give you a lot of freedom when creating…and added collage just make an artwork more special.

    • September 1, 2013 10:34 am

      Majda, I appreciate that feedback. Yes, I find freedom within that set of parameters. And they appeal to my short attention span!

  5. Tina permalink
    August 31, 2013 3:36 pm

    It makes me think of a day at the beach…nice!

  6. Barbara permalink
    August 31, 2013 5:08 pm

    Absolutely amazing as well as beautiful! Peace and tranquility as only sand and sea can give us. I must try this process as well. Happy September

    Blessings, Barbara B.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

