Skip to content

Spring Break for Painting Classes

February 27, 2013

Last night was my last painting class of this series. There were only 2 students, but they came prepared to have fun and they did. One of them finished a work in progress — a beach scene — and the other one walked in with a 24×48-inch canvas! She knew exactly what she wanted to do, which was lay down a yellow-green overall background and paint some very loose, big overlapping circles in red, turquoise, and black. I gave her my long faux-finishing brush

Faux Finishing Brush

to make the circles. Then when her circles were what she wanted, she dried the whole thing with a hair dryer, and put two coats of gloss varnish over that. Then she dried it again, and spread some textural heavy gloss gel over the whole thing. She had to leave it overnight so it can dry enough to take home, but I could tell she was very pleased with her painting. It’s a fun splash of color.

Tina's Painting

They said they’d like to start up again as soon as I’m ready. I need to take maybe a month to prepare. Now that they’ve played and had some fun, getting to know the materials, I think they’re ready for some structure.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2013 6:48 pm

    ha! sounds like fun. just plain ol’ fun. :)

  2. March 5, 2013 10:54 am

    Actually, I really like the look of those coloured circles, but it’s the idea of the gloss varnish that’s putting me off. I guess I’d have to see it…

    • March 5, 2013 4:58 pm

      Simon, I understand what you’re saying. The varnish was the underpinning for the subsequent layer of gloss gel, which is rather textured. I think it works. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comment.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

