Skip to content

More Than Enough

July 18, 2012

Trellised – Collage and mixed media on cradled panel, 8x8x2″

I’m rich — not in money, but in all of the things that really matter. We weren’t among the lucky ones that did well through the economic collapse of the past three years. But we are blessed to have more than enough.

Our house is modest, but we have a great big yard with tall trees and a garden and a symphony of birds every morning. We live far enough outside of town that I can actually see the stars at night.  And because only two people, two dogs, and a cat live here, I have room for a wonderful big studio, .

My very own river is just a mile or so away, and I can go see it any time I like. If you don’t believe it’s my own river, then you didn’t grow up around me. All of us kids believed it was our river, and so it is. I’ve fished in, skimmed rocks across, gone swimming in, (even skinny dipped, but that would be another story) camped beside, and water skied all over that river. When I was a teenager, my three friends and I even got the bright idea to walk all the way across this bridge, back when there was a walkway underneath.

We have a family that loves being together and having the kind of fun that doesn’t cost much — mostly cooking great meals and playing board games around the kitchen table.

I have my garden, which is really just a big science project. I love to experiment and watch things grow, learning as I go.

An then there is my art. I don’t know where it fits into the hierarchy of my priorities, but I know it is a huge part of what makes me happy. In fact, it gave me hope and lifted my spirits at a time during the years when work outside the home and taking care of a family became overwhelming. So I owe a lot to my art.

Artwork packed for our big move, 2009

Which is why, when I look around at all the paintings that have come home probably to stay, and ask myself why in the world I would want more paintings or collages, the answer is simple. It’s just what I do. I wouldn’t know how to be otherwise.

The collage shown above is on cradled masonite. I adhered it right on top of a painting that was past its prime. The botanical imagery is a piece of an etching I did several years ago.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 4:23 pm

    “More than enough ……” I, too am very lucky. I so enjoy your posts.

    • July 18, 2012 4:36 pm

      I’m so glad, Shirley. It’s so nice to get comments from you and everyone else who has a minute to spare. It means a lot to me.

  2. July 18, 2012 4:29 pm

    A beautiful collage and a lovely post, too. Your words ‘strike a chord’ with me: It’s truly a gift to be content with one’s life, and to know what is really important. That’s quite a bridge, did you make it across?

    • July 18, 2012 4:34 pm

      Oh Lord yes, Jane! I can’t believe we even came up with the idea. We were on our bikes, so we walked them across. Our town is small but the river is wide. Goodness, teenagers! We got caught too. One angry mom picked up her daughter in the car, hauling the bike home in the trunk. Thanks, glad you liked the thoughts expressed and the collage.

  3. sandra dorey permalink
    July 18, 2012 4:33 pm

    your joy, generosity of spirit and appreciation of all that is warms my heart

  4. July 19, 2012 8:31 am

    Need I say more? The other comments sum up what I want to say…
    :)

  5. July 20, 2012 5:41 pm

    What a great attitude and lovely post!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

