Skip to content

The Joys of Summer

June 21, 2012

Waiting for Flowers, Collage – 4×4″

Happy first day after Summer Solstice. I think summer is getting ready to show her true colors just about any day now. Temps are climbing and the soil is getting dryer.

The garden has given me a laugh a minute, with everything from early tomato blight to Japanese beetles, stink bugs, flea beetles, and squash vine borers. So if you haven’t seen me online much, that’s where I’ve been — getting a hands-on education in pest non-management.

This is the third year of our garden, which has given the pests and diseases plenty of time to figure out we’re here. Next year I’ll be far more proactive than I’ve been this time. I’ve let it get a little bit ahead of me. In an act of self-preservation, I may rip out my four largest tomato plants any day. That’s going to make me cringe, because they are absolutely loaded with huge tomatoes at varying stages of ripeness. But if that early blight keeps spreading it will be my only choice.

But we still get good things to eat. If you haven’t already seen it on facebook, here’s my basket from earlier this week. That’s a white eggplant at the bottom. Have you ever seen one? I hadn’t! So we decided to try them this year.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2012 3:45 pm

    Love the colorful veggies! And what an awesome collage! Your color scheme is very nice.

  2. Sandra permalink
    June 21, 2012 4:18 pm

    I am so sorry about your garden pests, very discouraging after all your hard work. Do you have organic products for controlling them? There is a range called Neem that we have here but I don’t know whether it is just a local product. Your basket of goodies is a wonderful artwork in itself. Yes I’ve had white eggplant, no difference in taste from the purple ones. I do love this collage, have printed it off to “borrow” your composition layout for a painting (the finished result will look quite different). That is the style of composition I like working on.

    • June 21, 2012 7:21 pm

      Sandra, I do know about neem oil. It’s one of many things that are available for organic use. I’ve had a rather lackadaisical approach so far, and figured that I could tolerate a certain level of pest problems (share and share alike, you know.) But this year they showed up with a vengeance! Next time I need to be proactive. There are good prevention methods for most things, but you have to start early. (And I didn’t!)

      We loved our first white eggplant and I’ve picked another one now. Yum! Glad you liked the collage.

      • Sandra permalink
        June 22, 2012 3:00 am

        The first ones probably went and invited all their mates to enjoy the feast!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    June 22, 2012 6:50 am

    beautiful pic looks good enough to eat!! i too have eaten the white egplant and though it tastes the same it kinda sorta ain’t the same if you know what i mean so i vote purple.

  4. June 22, 2012 12:38 pm

    No, haven’t tasted white eggplant. We call it aubergine here. In fact, I’m cooking with one tonight, but it’s purple. Lovely collage as usual.

  5. June 22, 2012 3:11 pm

    What a glorious basket of vegies! Love the collage too.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

