Skip to content

Creative Destruction

February 2, 2012

I have several more smallish canvases that aren’t doing anything for me, and even though I loved the colors on these two 12″ squares, there wasn’t really any “there” there. My apologies for the blur, but that’s all there is to see. They’ve already been painted over just now, so I can’t re-shoot them.

Before

In order to create something new on these, I’ve forced myself to swallow hard and practically destroy them by painting a thin coat of Titan Buff over them, so I can begin again. There is a ton of texture, but that’s OK. I consider that an asset. And I won’t mind if some of the color actually ends up peeking through. That’s how I was able to achieve the subtle color on the half and half composition earlier this week. Here is how the above 2 canvases look now:

After

We’ll see what happens. As for the two larger canvases¬†from this Monday, I don’t want to do much more to them except for more gel and maybe a subtle allover unifying glaze. So I’m still thinking about how to wrap them up.

The next two in my sights are these 30-inch squares. I reworked them last year and set them aside, but they still aren’t resolved.

Before and After Challenge, 3/31/2011 30 inches square

Echoes 37, Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 30 Inches

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 1:59 am

    Lovely. I just did that too. I didn’t like the work I did, and it was very textured. I covered it up – haphazardly with white gesso and started again. I’ll be posting mine up today (I hope). Your work looks great!

  2. February 3, 2012 6:23 am

    Beautiful dear Martha, so beautiful. You are so creative and I love your paintings… Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  3. February 3, 2012 4:42 pm

    You’ve done it again! Lovely

  4. birdsfoottrefoil permalink
    February 3, 2012 7:06 pm

    I’m loving seeing each stage – a privilege to be with you on your journey

  5. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    February 3, 2012 10:23 pm

    Hi Martha, i have to be honest…I LOVE BOTH! i am excited that you are going back to some of these big paintings. love your style in these.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 577 other followers

