Skip to content

Shared Inspiration

August 5, 2011

One of the things I love most about blogging is how inspired I am by other artists who stop by and share their creative adventures with me.

I just received a link from Sassa Lynne at Chittle Chattle that takes you to her recent tutorial for making Paper Fabric. This technique is so intriguing that I want to stop what I’m doing and go make some! And while you’re there, look around. Chittle Chattle is full of eye candy!

But instead of getting my hands blissfully glued today, I’m doing this:

. . . and while harvesting those, I found this:

This collection makes up the choicest pieces from a big corrugated box that I had flattened and had been using as a cover for my compost pile all last winter and until now. It was looking so sad and weathered that I decided to toss it. But when I put it over on the burn pile, I gave a hasty glance over my shoulder to make sure the neighbors weren’t watching as I carefully sorted through the fragments to get these pieces for my weathered paper stash.

What am I saying? My neighbors already know about me and my strange ways of seeing the world. With them, I have nothing to worry about.

Have a great weekend!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 10:05 am

    Thanks so much for the link. LOL, I’d have hidden those papers too. My DH is totally bemused by my stack of ‘things’.

    • August 6, 2011 10:46 am

      Hah! My husband doesn’t even know what’s out there in the studio. I guess he’s afraid to peek!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 6, 2011 10:05 am

    Hi Martha:
    Loved your post today. Too funny. My son gave me an “aw Mom” as I picked up ephemera off the path one day. Another day he teased me about tearing a “lost kitty” notice(expired by several years), off a telephone pole. I told him I was cleaning up the environment. I too have had my neighbors shaking their heads (but not my art friends as they understand).
    Loved the papers and the beautiful veggies.
    Patq

    • August 6, 2011 10:47 am

      Pat, isn’t it nice to know we’re not alone? And I love the idea of collage as cleaning up the environment! Perfect.

  3. August 6, 2011 7:32 pm

    Score!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 7, 2011 8:58 am

    well i am hard pressed to choose the thing i love best, those beautiful veggies or those fantastic papers so i’ll leave you guessing which..margaret

  5. August 7, 2011 11:50 am

    Well Margaret, that was why I put both in the blog post. I love growing both veggies and cool papers! But you know how much I love food, so I’m probably leaning toward the veggies.

  6. August 7, 2011 9:01 pm

    I’m strange too. Those pieces of weathered cardboard look awesome.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 581 other followers

