Skip to content

Recycling Mat Board Squeegees

October 6, 2010

“Tear” – Collage 4 x 4″ Mounted on 9 x 9″ Heavy Paper Backing

This little collage was made from layers of a piece of mat board that I had been using for a squeegee. I peeled the surface off both sides of the mat board to use as collage pieces.

Since I love to recycle everything, I save all of my mat board squeegees because the paint blobs become really interesting over time. They can be scanned and printed as collage pieces, used as studies for original abstract paintings, or incorporated into collage.

Here’s a collection of them from a couple of years ago.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 11:24 pm

    I love these Martha!

    It’s amazing how you have trained me to look for further uses in everything that I use in my art process. I have a hard time throwing away paper towels that I use to blot my brushes on now! I just know that one day I’ll be able to use them on something artsy and they do end up looking pretty interesting. :)

    • October 7, 2010 4:02 pm

      Itaya, I am so tired of the waste that we all create and then have to deal with. So now my mindset is always about how I can reuse, or recycle, or be as low-tech as possible.

      I know! Those paper towels are pretty darned cool!

  2. October 7, 2010 6:20 am

    yum !

    love it … rather than recycling it i see them as raw materials in progress … beautiful in any case … enjoy visiting your space, always Martha >>> Gina

  3. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    October 7, 2010 10:04 pm

    Martha…that piece is really nice! But, not being a ‘real’ artist – I don’t know what a matt board squeegee is. Can you tell me? Are they paint skins?

    Thanks Martha

  4. October 8, 2010 6:45 am

    Wonderful idea and look….also love the foto with all of them spread out like that….looks fantastic!

  5. October 9, 2010 10:24 am

    Nice! I really like this.
    I love painting/assembling with “leftovers”.

Trackbacks

  1. Inspirations: Tip# 1.5 |

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

