Skip to content

Thoughts on Photographing Your Art

August 11, 2010

“Familiar Passage” – Acrylic and Mixed Media on Canvas, 20 x 24″

Prints Available at ImageKind.com

Yesterday I talked a little bit about images of my art that are used for licensing and for giclee prints to be sold on third-party sites such as ImageKind, FineArtAmerica and RedBubble. I have to state up front that over the years I have accumulated a collection of images that were all done professionally, most of them at service bureaus using high-end equipment. That’s because I wanted them taken at high resolution and at 100 percent of their size in inches. I wanted images that I could use for anything, any time. It’s paid off for me several times over in royalties and licensing fees.

But in reality, armed with the right information, you can learn shoot your own very acceptable professional-looking photographs, even for prints. The biggest difference between paying for expensive imaging and shooting your own is the capacity of your camera, which will determine the maximum print size.

Beyond prints, there are lots of other good reasons to take the best possible photographs of your art from the very beginning, such as to give you the best archive of your work and to always have the best pictures for prospective galleries and show submissions.

I’m going to assume that you already know you really don’t want frames and backgrounds showing, nor glare, nor skewed looking views. (Like those you’ve occasionally seen in this blog. Sometimes I get so carried away trying to do a “show and tell” I’m guilty of all the above.)

With that in mind, I did a search on “How to Photograph Art” and found the best article I’ve seen yet on the subject, written by J.R. Compton for the Dallas Arts Revue. It’s not really just an article. It’s a complete course on photographing your art. It doesn’t insult your intelligence, is fun and entertaining, and gives complete information no matter your level of camera proficiency.

And while we’re at it, here’s an excellent resource page for artists at the same website that should keep you going back again and again for more tips and how-tos.

I’m getting a little better at shooting my own art, but I learned a bunch of new things from this article. I hope you find it challenging and inspiring too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 8:20 am

    Very informative article : )

  2. August 12, 2010 7:47 pm

    Thanks for the links and sharing your finds!

  3. August 21, 2010 1:05 pm

    Very interesting article. I love your work, and your use of color.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 671 other followers

