Skip to content

Addicted to Collage

May 14, 2010

Seriously, collage is becoming an addiction for me. It’s a medium that fits in nicely with my other work in the studio, and sometimes even inspires my larger paintings. I enjoy the fact that I can mix photographic elements and hand-painted and drawn passages in the same work of art. I can work on them while waiting for the paint and mediums to dry on my large panels, because there are times when all I can do is wait. It’s a wonderful way to keep creating.

This is a continuation of the Passageways Series. My criteria are that the formats are all 5 x 7 inches, all the colors are earth colors in a limited palette, and the imagery is abstract.

“Passageways 6″ – Collage, 5 x 7″

There is something therapeutic about sorting through choices of shapes and textures to create a composition. If I were a poet, I might love doing the same thing with words.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 2:15 am

    Martha,

    adiction to collage is also for me something special. I’m using collage for expressing my ideas about human interactions through history or at certain moment. I’m usually using newspaper photos, magazines, or photo images in combination with diferent paper materials and colours / watercolor, acrylic…/ Dimension is differs from 19 x 29 cm to 90 x 120 cm.

    Some of them are on the link bellow

    http://www.artreview.com/profiles/profile/show?id=MarkoJezernik&

    and on videos on link WORLDnews network

    http://upge.wn.com/ search Marko Jezernik

  2. May 15, 2010 9:11 am

    I’m liking the textures in this piece!
    Those circles are making me happy, too.
    So glad you’re sharing these, Martha.

  3. May 15, 2010 12:47 pm

    If we have to be addicted …there is nothing more fulfilling that working in collage….Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  4. May 15, 2010 1:19 pm

    When I look at it a little longer, the space opens up and it becomes 3D.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

