Skip to content

From Studio to Garden and Back Again

April 15, 2010

My many studio projects are humming along. I’m doing three paintings for a new show. As usual, there is a lot of drying time required between paint applications. I’m liking how they’re going so far.

These panels are 6 x 24 inches each.

In addition, I’m doing a major digital project that needed to get done two months ago.

Meanwhile, we’re still working hard to get all of our major outside work done while the weather is so nice. When we moved in, we immediately saw improvements needed in the landscaping, and knew we wanted a vegetable garden.

Every day it seems there’s a new planting project. An empty space beside the driveway needs ground cover and an accent shrub. The old existing rose bushes need edging material around them, as do our recently-planted blueberry bushes. And we have a peach tree and a plum tree to plant.

We won’t plant the summer veggies until May 1st, but are already laying out our raised beds in the back yard, to make sure they’re in the right spot before we fill them with dirt.

Meanwhile, I traipse back and forth to the little enclosed patch where I have some homemade self-watering tubs, two of which are planted with two kinds of onions and one full of bibb lettuce, and where my compost pile has to be stirred a couple of times a week. These tubs are blue because they were the cheapest ones we could find! The one on the right is all purple onions and the one on the left is sweet yellow onions. You may notice that there are onions among the lettuce. That’s just because I ran out of space before I ran out of onions.

This is the place where my “buried papers” are stashed. They aren’t buried, but are bundled and left on top of the ground. Here they are in their current state. You may notice teeth marks along some of the edges. And you can see some water stains and ink that has run from one sheet to another. I think they need to stay out a couple more months. What do you think of their progress?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:47 pm

    I love your nifty little onion containers – they’ve got me thinking about growing onions in containers. They seem to get rather lost in the garden. They could go into the old recycling crate that was made redundant when we got wheelie bins. Do you raise them from seed or buy small plants?

  2. April 16, 2010 9:51 pm

    So much enterprise Martha. I love seeing all this growth – in your plants, your aged papers, your panels. Spring is truly in the air!

    • April 17, 2010 4:20 am

      Yes it is, Cath! So wonderful to hear all these birds every morning, and to stroll out back with my coffee and see what’s growing.

  3. April 17, 2010 11:23 am

    I so agree Martha – the paintings are coming along nicely! Always a pleasure to stop in and see what you are doing.

    I too have been drawn out the garden. It is getting harder and harder to stay in the studio and at the computer during the mornings. I think I will have to rise earlier so as it warms up I can be off.

  4. April 18, 2010 4:34 pm

    Panels are looking great. And saw are those loose papers. But I say more time outside!

  5. May 2, 2010 11:57 am

    I checked on my buried paper stash yesterday and found some lovely earthworms for my compost ! I was thrilled! The papers were doing some nice things, also, so the worms were a bonus. lol~
    Love your self-watering container garden. You’re so awesome, kid.

    • May 3, 2010 11:40 am

      Aw, thanks, DJ! Plenty of earthworms here too. I love that they’re plentiful in our dirt. My papers are blowing around inside my little enclosed compost pen. Once in a while I will stack them and weigh them down again. But they’re progressing very well.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

