Skip to content

The Sounds of Spring

April 13, 2010

“Ritual 16″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

It’s heaven to sleep with the windows open, and to hear the first bird singing its little heart out just before sunup. That bird was the thing that woke me this morning, but I must have been well-rested, because I smiled to myself listening to the singing. It seemed to be saying “Come on everybody! Can’t you see it’s daytime?” I don’t hear roosters in our neighborhood, which seems odd to me. We are far enough out from town that I’d think there would be.

So here it is almost noon and there’s a symphony of bird sounds, the buzzing of bees and wasps, and the occasional deep notes my wind chimes from the gentle breeze. The windows and doors are open still, because the weather is perfect.

Yesterday we did a major dirt-moving and planting project. First thing this morning I did all my outdoor chores that couldn’t wait until tomorrow, because the rest of the day will be spent in the studio.

The painting above is one of my Ritiuals Series, which can be seen at Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa, Florida.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 9:52 am

    Lovely as always Like the redness and blue A early morning painting indeed

  2. April 13, 2010 12:25 pm

    Amazing painting! The 3-D effect… is this painted or a real shadow?

    • April 13, 2010 2:34 pm

      Eva, I guess the effect you are seeing is from paint. It has a lot of impasto with black flowing over that. The black goes into the indentations and gives that visual effect.

      So glad you like it!

  3. April 13, 2010 3:09 pm

    Oh I love this painting Martha! It looks like it was painted on old wood. The colors are wonderfully vibrant as well as muted, and springlike and earthy all at the same time. I really love the effect. :)

    • April 14, 2010 6:22 am

      Thanks, Itaya. Yes, I kind of “pushed it” toward an old wood look, which was starting to appear anyway. Glad you like it!

  4. April 13, 2010 4:07 pm

    I love the desaturated blue under the red/pink. How many layers of paint do you usually end up with on the panel once you’ve completed your paintings?

    • April 14, 2010 6:25 am

      Hello Ant,

      I’ve been exploring your blog and love your work. Thanks so much for visiting.

      In answer to your question: As many layers as it takes for me to think it’s finished. I lose track of how many, seriously. Sometimes a painting feels successful after just an application or two of paint. Other times I have to keep adding layers until something happens. In the case of lots of texture that’s usually intentional, done usually with various texture mediums.

  5. April 13, 2010 4:27 pm

    The sounds of spring painting makes me smile. I should pay more attention.

  6. April 13, 2010 7:34 pm

    it is beautiful Martha … so far my favourite of this series …

    you will be experiencing all kinds of firsts this year wont you? your description of early morning makes me smile (as i head soonish into winter) .. enjoy your garden, birds and creativity ! >>> Gina

    • April 14, 2010 6:26 am

      Oh wow, Gina. Thank you! Yes, so many firsts. It’s inspiring for sure.

      I was thinking of you early this morning as I looked through the papers out in the garden. Need to show them on the blog again. They are progressing well.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

