Skip to content

Last of the Fall Color

December 12, 2009

The only bright fall color left in our area are the leaves of the Bradford Pear trees. And those are just about completely gone. These are leaves from my neighbor’s trees that blew into my yard. As I walked through them, I picked up the ones that still had some color. I don’t know what those big faded green papery leaves are, but they are from a tree in my yard that I haven’t identified yet. And there are always the pine needles, both green and dead ones. Some of the green ones have fallen off in the last few days when there was a lot of wind.

I took a fairly high-resolution picture of these leaves on the table, because I might want to use parts of it in collage, both digital and glued.

And just because I enjoy looking at these fence post wood scraps, I thought I’d share them with you. I have them stacked in my shelf in the studio for inspiration. I love the patterns.

Every time I look at this stack of blocks I think of totems. When the fence out back was being put in, I naturally had to have a bunch of these. They were cut off in several different lengths for discard. Who knows what I’ll ever do with them, but they seemed like something to ponder for a while.

And today I just finished scanning a whole array of collages that were completed this week. I love getting out to the studio every day to work on more of these!

“Persimmon” – Collage, 5 x 7″
Mounted on 8 x 10″ Acid Free Paper

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 8:06 am

    I like your idea of using tree rings for inspiration- wonderful pictures you have of the fence posts. Lately, I’ve been inspired by patterns in driftwood, a sandy ocean bed, ripples on the ocean- and even dried up cactus plants.

    • December 13, 2009 5:49 pm

      Stephanie, I’m always fascinated by the similarities between patterns in nature. Looking at the bare trees against the winter sky today was a special treat.

  2. December 13, 2009 3:32 pm

    “Persimmon” turned out well. This collage reminds of contemporary journaling techniques, which I have tried in a few compositions.

  3. December 13, 2009 5:55 pm

    Thanks, Amanda. In a way I guess these are a lot like journaling, in the sense that they’re spontaneous and done without a lot of conscious thought.

  4. January 1, 2010 9:56 am

    Wow. LOVE the color combination you collected in your yard. Beautiful inspiration…
    And what is it about wood scraps? Such potential…such promise…Just can’t toss those precious pieces, either. :-)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 685 other followers

