Skip to content

My Inspiration Wall

August 29, 2009

In my old studio, which was a real garage, I taped clippings of images that inspired me right onto the inside of the garage door. That was just about all the wall space I had. When I opened the garage, the pictures would wave in the breeze and then settle back down against the door when it was closed.

My new studio has plenty of wall space for inspiration images. I don’t have an inspiration wall yet, but I will make one. Looking around through inspirations I’ve saved on my computer this morning, I made a virtual inspiration wall — one that I’d love to make in real life.

My Inspiration Board

Many of these images are from famous artists, some from artists I’ve known and admired, some are photographs of graffiti and other interesting things, and some are my own images that are studies for future works or simply images of my own work that I like to look at for continuity with future work.

I’d love it if you would share a link showing your inspiration wall.

Note:  This post was inspired by reading a beautiful blog lenorenevermore, which I encourage you to visit!  Lenore showed this inspirtation board created by Melbourne-based interior designer and showroom owner Diane Bergeron.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 11:19 am

    I love your inspiration wall! I would love to have one for my studio, alas no wall space, but you have inspired me so maybe I’ll just ‘get creative’ and come up with something. Also I am intrigued by your paint skins, that is very cool. Thank you for so much inspiration-I’m going to paint now.

    • August 30, 2009 3:37 am

      Jane, glad you’re inspired! I think if I didn’t have wall space I might look for . . . ceiling space? You know when you tilt your head back sometimes just thinking and looking for inspiration? You could be seeing pictures on the ceiling!

  2. August 29, 2009 11:28 am

    I love your wall. In the house before this one we had a floor to ceiling, white wall in the kitchen, 6-7 feet wide. we couldn’t hang anything “precious” on it due to no nails could pierce it (can’t remember why) … so we taped things all over it for 6 years … that was 25 years ago but I still remember it. Now I have things all over the frig. but it’s all filed up (no room for new) and I don’t have the heart to take down most of the old memories.

    • August 30, 2009 3:41 am

      Oh my goodness, Kari. I hope you have a nice big high-resolution photo of your refrigerator. I am sure it’s a work of art!

      Your art is stunning. I especially love the sculptures.

  3. August 29, 2009 11:44 am

    How wonderful…
    Inspiration should be like breathing! It’s all around us & favorite images certainly help us to remember… Thanks for your kind words, hope to hear from you again! Love your top ten in your previous post as well! Lovely weekend to you~

    xo & cheers to ART*

    • August 29, 2009 3:03 pm

      Lenore, thanks for visiting. It was your blog that put the “bug in my ear” about this subject! So for that I thank you!

  4. August 29, 2009 12:04 pm

    Martha, I just checked my blog roll……what a surprise today you talked about your inspiration wall and I just posted on my blog about a Vision Board.

  5. August 29, 2009 3:19 pm

    I tack inspirations up on my walls too. I also download digital images, but those tend to stay out of sight on my computer… and out of mind.

    • August 29, 2009 3:45 pm

      Yeah, Chewy, I know what you mean. I don’t really keep images from contemporary artists in view, for fear of being too influenced, even if unconsciously.

  6. August 30, 2009 8:19 pm

    What a great idea…a virtual inspiration wall. Many images inspiring to me on your wall too. Her is a link to a post I did showing my inspiration wall: http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/2009/06/inspiration-board-iii.html

    • August 31, 2009 8:55 am

      Wonderful, Seth! In fact, I love how you showed your wall at three different times.

      Readers: Do check out Seth’s wall! If you aren’t inspired, you aren’t breathing.

Trackbacks

  1. My Inspiration Wall « An Artist's Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

