Skip to content

New Home Pictures

July 9, 2009

OK, I have gotten over my fear of jinxing the move, and have decided to show pictures. Instead of being afraid, I should instead share the pictures and my affirmation, which goes like this:

I have found the perfect home and the perfect studio. It is everything I had hoped for and is just waiting for me to make it my own. Everything is working out for a smooth, problem-free move, and I will have renewed energy to create new art.


New House Front

On the right is the two-car garage that has been made into a fully-finished room. My studio!

New House Side View

Side View

Carport behind the garage

Carport behind the original garage

Family Room and this is also the living room!

Family Room and this is also the living room!

Eat-in Kitchen

Eat-in Kitchen

Big Country Kitchen

Kitchen view

My studio - the "before"

My studio - the "before"

Big back yard for dogs and a garden

Big fenced back yard for dogs and a garden

Looking from the side street through the back yards

Looking from the side street through the back yards

The studio is dark paneling and will have to be painted and lighting will need to be added. The deer heads will be gone when I get there, I hope!

Today I started early and worked nonstop until I couldn’t any more. I’ve started packing my paintings into their boxes. It’s nice to get them all ship shape and ready to go.

I’m proving to be good for about four hours of hard labor before I either get distracted or exhausted. And I’m easily distracted.

It feels good to know we are not taking anything with us that we don’t need! It’s wonderful.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 1:39 pm

    Martha….this looks just perfect for your needs – and a nice studio space and lots of space for gardening as well as just relaxing out of doors. Love those wooden floors too! I bet you have a lot of ‘finishing touches’ of your own to add but it already looks like a place where you will feel right at home. So happy for you! :)

  2. July 9, 2009 2:47 pm

    So good the deer will be gone. Might require some sage smoke purification. But the house looks good. If I was closer, I’d bring salt & bread. Good luck in the new home! May it be perfect for you.

    • July 9, 2009 2:55 pm

      Eva, I think I will smudge it. Good idea. Thank you for the good wishes. I would love to have you there as one of my first guests.

  3. July 9, 2009 2:50 pm

    I am so envious of you and the opportunity to move. We had our house on the market for over a year awhile back and not a bite. So, pulled it because the economy was down the tubes. I feel like I need a change, a new place, but can’t stand the idea of leaving my daughters and granddaughter. This seems to be a very difficult time in life: this transition between having raised your children, wanting to have time to yourself, and planning for the eventual. How did you decide to do the move? I’d be interested in hearing the process.

    • July 9, 2009 3:04 pm

      Teri, we didn’t really have a choice. My husband lost two jobs over a period of a year. The first one was with a company he’d been with for many years. When he found another one, it was with a small company owned by some friends of ours. They tried to make a viable spot for him, but the crummy economy eventually won and they finally had to dissolve his position.

      We are old enough now to draw social security, so we have just decided to downsize enough to make that work. Anything over and above — like income from my art, etc. — is a help.

  4. NJ Art 73 permalink
    July 9, 2009 5:23 pm

    Hi,
    I have been receiving your daily blog for a while. I would like to send you my best wishes on your move. It looks like a beautiful house, very roomy and open. At least in the South you will not need an enclosed garage because of the snow & cold. I agree with Eve about a purification ritual regarding the deer heads. if I may ask will the trampoline still be there or the current owners taking it with them? Wishing you many years of happiness and painting

    • July 9, 2009 6:04 pm

      Thank you so much NJ for the good wishes. I agree with you both about purifying the space after the deer are gone. My husband joked that we should ask them the leave the trampoline. Wish I were younger and could really enjoy one.

  5. July 9, 2009 5:40 pm

    Your new home and surroundings reminds me of our home. I love mine and I think you will be very happy in this home. We love retirement.

    • July 9, 2009 6:04 pm

      Diane, we are really excited to be embarking on a new life and are really looking forward to it.

  6. July 9, 2009 10:43 pm

    I agree. You have found the perfect home and perfect studio for you. The Universe will ensure everything you need.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

