Skip to content

Saturday Finds

December 6, 2008

This week has been busy. But here are a few Saturday Finds for today, and I hope you will explore some of them.

Taking After Mudear

I just got back from an author’s book signing and reading and was very glad I went. I always love hearing authors read their own works, which literally breathes life into them on another level.  Tina McElroy Ansa has just published her fifth novel Taking After Mudear, which takes place in the small fictional Georgia town of Mulberry, where three sisters confront their adult lives without the physical presence of their recently-deceased mother, but who still holds sway over their existence even from the grave, and has no intention of letting them forget her any time soon.

This book is a sequel to Ugly Ways, one that I have to confess I haven’t yet read, so I have promised myself not to read this nice, brand new, fresh-smelling, autographed copy of Taking After Mudear until I get the first part of the story and read it.

I read her first novel Baby of the Family last year, in which she paints a mesmerizing picture using her unique palette of rich descriptive prose, humor, wisdom, and universal truth.

If you click on Ansa’s link above, you can find additional information about the author and her novels, learn more about her publishing enterprise, and read excerpts of her newest book.

Beyler’s Paintings

Swiss artist Stefanie Beyler offers prints and paintings in her Etsy shop.  This print, affordable at $20, grabbed me as I was browsing through the pages today. Remember Etsy for all things handmade this gift-giving season.

Wear A Cascade of Uppercase Letters

Uppercase lasercut scarf from Little Factory. Gotta love it. Numbers and Lower Case letter scarves are also available.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 6:50 pm

    I think I may have to get ‘Taking after Mudear.’ -It’s all about my sister! She’s still fighting battles with our Mother whose been dead for over 20 years.

    I’ll check out all your links.
    Vikki

  2. December 6, 2008 8:40 pm

    Oh MARTHA!! That uppercase letter scarf is SO COOL!!! However, that pic is a bit deceiving. That scarf is only 10 cm wide. (3.9″). They either have it hanging doubled or have more than one on this model. I LOVE it though. $58…hmmmmm. I have to think about this.

  3. December 7, 2008 2:16 pm

    That scarf is really neat. I always look for clothes, etc. that have to do with art or writing. Of course, since I am not out in the public anymore, I don’t really shop and try to make do with what I have. I’m debating about a Sketch Crawl t-shirt now, available on their site, http://www.sketchcrawl.com. It has the Sketch Crawl logo on the front and a cool looking pencil on one sleeve. I’m not really a t-shirt person, but I thought it was such a good idea that I’m tempted to get one anyway.
    (The next World Wide Sketch Crawl is January 10, if anyone wants to join in.)
    Love the print with the girl. That reminds me of the style that my daughter and friends wore, with makeup only under the eye, not on the lid.
    The book sounds really interesting, too. Being from Texas, and with ancestors settling in the south, I particularly enjoy books about life in the south.
    You might look up Sunny Nash. She is originally from here, but has lived in various places. One of her books is “Big Mama Don’t Shop At Woolworths”. When she lived in the area last, she had a column in the newspaper about growing up in the Candy Hill section of Bryan. I met her through my writers groups and had her come to talk to my art and journalism classes as much as possible. She was great and everyone was really impressed with her.
    Another book that she has out is a photo essay of streets in the U.S. named after Martin Luther King.
    Later, her daughter and my daughter worked at the same place. She is a really neat lady. Looks very young! Another of her accomplishments is singing. She has CDs out, and also worked as a back up singer in New York.

  4. December 8, 2008 12:37 pm

    I love these scarves! Thanks for another great Saturday find.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 671 other followers

