Skip to content

New Videos Coming Soon

November 10, 2008

haiku-53-sm

“Haiku 53″ – Mixed Media on Panel
8 x 8 x 2″

I have finally decided once and for all to push through some obstacles — whether real or imagined — which have been holding me back, and will begin right now, today, teaching myself how to create some videos, not just slideshows.

Across the room from where I sit with my comfortable old shoe of a clunky PC is my iMac that I bought two years ago for the purpose of creating digital art. It serves me well in that capacity, and it has all kinds of video editing capabilities as well. So it’s sat there and called to me every single day.

This has been a big thing on my agenda that has been nagging at me. I couldn’t decide what camera to get, so my son sent me some information about a new little camcorder that they use at work for documenting training sessions, etc.  It is affordable and compact, so I have bitten the bullet and ordered it online. I’m so excited!

Meanwhile, I’m not waiting. I’m shooting some raw footage with my little digital camera, and when I get enough of that to do something with, I’m going to play with it in the video editing software.

The cool thing is that this first one is documenting additional work on the big blue painting that I started two and a half weeks ago. I plan to show the completion of that painting.  So I’m shooting it in segments which will have to be put together into some kind of coherent whole.

So stay tuned! If that one turns out to be halfway presentable, I’ll share it here.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2008 12:00 pm

    good for you, sounds like a huge undertaking but very worthwhile and hopefully fruitful AND fun. big steps…looking forward to seeing your first video! how exciting to have ordered the cam!!!

  2. November 10, 2008 2:57 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement, Paula. Seems very daunting, but maybe it isn’t. The footage looks fine so far, but definitely needs some editing.

  3. November 10, 2008 4:15 pm

    Good and cannot wait to see it!
    i am having similar doubts with this Dissertation thing…it is basicaly a mental Block, though i feel better having written a thousand words and will do more over the next few days.
    as artists i think we sometimes put our own limits and in the end everything comes from within!

  4. November 10, 2008 9:39 pm

    Hi Martha,
    You know video editing was the core of what I did for living? All I can say is that it’s the same learning process as art. It’s easy enough to learn the technical how-to’s (or tools), but the creative process is something you have to teach yourself. You just dance to the music.

    Look forward to your videos.
    Vikki

  5. November 10, 2008 11:50 pm

    Can’t wait to see!
    I’ve just started taking “process” pics for trying out on slideshow form so I’m waaaay behind you on this one. LOL!

  6. Janet permalink
    November 11, 2008 9:36 am

    Don’t rely on the camcorder sound capability. Get an external microphone for sound………..I made that mistake. You are going to have fun. Good luck!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 703 other followers

